Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Here is a great modification to this recipe if you don't have a grill or you have no time to cook. Preheat the oven to 350; spray a pan with Pam; throw in some boneless pork chops; top with the brown sugar, butter and soy sauce and bake for about 20 minutes. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
978 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Too sweet for our spice fans so I modified as follows. I wanted a quick marinade so I deleted the salt, water and cornstarch, halved the oil and increased the soy sauce to 4 tablespoons. Then I heated the sauce to dissolve the sugar and poured it over the chops to marinate for 30 minutes. We grilled for no more than 10 minutes and the reviews from my team were 'can we have this again next week?' Not sweet or salty but just very flavorful and juicy! Thanks! Follow-up: I forgot about the modifications I made last time (notes above) and made recipe exactly as written. Much better WITH the modifications unless you really like sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Awesome recipe- I cooked this tonight for company. I followed the recipe exact for the sauce- but I used both chicken & chops and it was great on both. I also like to ensure that the meat comes out tender, so I marinated it in equal parts apple cider vinegar & apple juice. Followed the advice of another review & served this with "Cinnamon Rice with Apples" - another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is a good basic pork chop/brown sugar recipe... as is. I would like to say something, when you guys rate a recipe, it's supposed to the the original recipe, as listed. But what do I see? I see a 5-star rating, and three paragraphs on how you changed the recipe. I you changed it, then it wasn't 5-star. Or are you saying, that if you cook the recipe with your modifications, then it will be 5-star. Okay, it's just a rant; however, I just don't get how you rate something 5-star, and then go on to tell me that you didn't like it, and here's the changes you need to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I substituted Jack Daniels for the fruit juice and it was wonderful. Like the chops and steaks made in fancy resteraunts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I made this for my family and it was a hit. Even my daughter who has to be one of the pickiest eaters on the planet ate it all up. However, I was out of apple juice, so I substituted canned pineapple chunks. It worked out great. I will keep this one on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is YUM. Pretty sweet. You don't need a lot of sauce. I marinated the pork for about half an hour before grilling it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
These pork chops came off the grill tender and juicy! As I read in another review, I used Jack Daniel's in my sauce. I only used 1T. oil and I used 2T. Jack. It added excellent flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
My family really liked these chops. I did find that with all of the oil and water, the sauce ended up pretty watery. So I decided to marinade the pork chops for about an hour before the BBQ, and then brushed them with the sauce during cooking. Also, I thought it seemed a bit sweet, so I added quite a bit of pepper to add some spice and cut back the sweet. Would make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any apple juice, so substituted what I had on hand (mango/passion fruit) and they were great anyway.Great flavor for a summer cook out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States