Grilled Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I only had baby bok choy, but tried to make the dish anyway. I cooked it for far less time, basically just enough time to get them on the grill, butter them, flip them over, butter them, then cook for a little bit. Some of the leaves did get a little burnt, but it was still amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
The key here is hot heat and fast. It keeps the thick part of the bok choy nice and crunchy and the leafy part crispy like a potato chip. Nice blend of seasonings. I used baby boy choy which I cut in half lengthwise. This is a make-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I could not believe how good this was! I put the bok choy into a grilling basket and kept stirring and basting it with the seasoned butter as it grilled. It took up less room on the grill that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
My husband and I thought this was pretty good. I used baby bok choy and olive oil instead of butter... mixed the basting ingredients in a bowl, prepared the bok choy leaves, added them to the bowl, and massaged the oil throughout the leaves. I put the leaves directly on the grill. The ends of the leaves came out crunchy and a little burnt, the stalks were warm and tender. There were some bitterness, probably from the burnt pieces, but not all of the burnt parts were bitter. It was good, and I'll probably make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Just the change I was looking for from sautéing this veggie. I found the basting brush difficult to use on the leaves while grilling so I just put it all in a covered bowl with the ingredients and shook it around. Worked great and less work. Served with hamburgers and hot dogs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My son and I loved this, got him to try a new veggie! You could flavor it with whatever you like, it mostly tastes like the oil/butter seasoning you use. I used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Didn't love this. But I agree with another reviewer...I just think I don't love Bok Choy. It was a little soggy too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Because of the pouring rain tonight, I grilled this on my indoor grill. I also blanched the bok choy for just a minute or two first in salted boiling water. I used 1 1/2tblspns of olive oil instead of 1/4c of butter (I wanted to keep the fat content way down), kept the spices the same except the season salt which I used half of, and just 1/8tsp of fresh black pepper. Submitter has it down twice so I used the lesser. Thought 1tspn was extreme. Added red hot pepper flakes to mine. I enjoyed this! Might be better with baby bok choy since it may be more tender. Looking forward to making again and grilling outside for a more smokey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was really pretty good. I loved it and it had the wonderfully smoky flavor of the bbq. I made it next to the chicken I was grilling off. Quick and easy. Thank You Nom Nom for getting us to think Outside the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This recipe is amazing! It's easy and it goes QUICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States