Grilled Beets in Rosemary Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Without a grill, I wrapped the beets in foil, and baked in a 350 oven for about 45 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I wanted to use both the beets and the greens so I changed it up a bit. I took the raw unpeeled beets and boiled them for a few minutes until tender crisp stage. Let them cool, then peeled and sliced them. Added them to the marinade and omitted the garlic ( I felt like they would overpower the earthy sweet flavor). Grilled them directly on grill for a few minutes on each side.For the greens, I carmelized some red onion and thick cut bacon in a little olive oil with a bit of turbinado sugar and splash of balsamic, then sauteed the greens for just a few minutes until tender and bright green. Served the grilled beets on top of the greens. The flavors were bright and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exileon84

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fairfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
The beets were OK, but a little dry. Also, I questioned putting the marinade and the beets in aluminum foil. I've always heard that vinegar and aluminum interact negatively. I also questioned whether the beets should have been marinated AFTER the grilling. The raw beets were hard to handle, and I wonder if the flavor wouldn't have been more intense with marinating after the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was a really wonderful dish, and a welcome addition to any bbq dinner. I bought some golden beets (deep yellow flesh) at a local farmers' market, and was looking for a way to prepare them on the grill. I peeled the beets, which the recipe doesn't specify, and I used thyme, marjoram & savory in place of herbes de provence, and added salt and pepper. The balsamic vinegar complements the beets very well. I will definitely make this again--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! The only change I made was to boil the beets in a big pot of water first until tender (I then skinned and sliced them). I had about 5 beets I was working with and didn't want to be relying solely on the grill to get all the slices cooked through. However, the taste is wonderful, even though I only had fresh rosemary and had to use dried herbs for the rest. I cut the leftover slices into chunks today and threw them in the pasta/veggie salad I already had and they added a wonderful flavor. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
wow, what a superb sweet/savoury/smoky dish for the summer, THE BEST i've ever had beets, i've got peeps hooked on these and everyone wants this simple yet deep-flavoured recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Yum, these were a great new way to make beets! Next time I'd grill them a little longer though, since mine were still a little firm. Also, the recipe doesn't specify to peel the beets, but I did it anyway because I can never seem to get them clean enough by scrubbing. Oh, and don't use a wood cutting board or it will end up pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
great! I added a little olive oil and instead of herbes de Provence I took some lavender and oregano from the garden in addition to the fresh rosemary. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made this for the first time, and my husband and I both enjoyed it quite a bit. I prepared the recipe as it was given, except for two little changes. Instead of place the beets directly on the grill, (ours were smallish and we were afraid they'd fall through the grate) we put them in our grill wok. That worked great. I also marinated longer than called for, but I wouldn't do that again. Usually I prefer more flavor but the herbs and vinegar overpowered the beet flavor. I suppose that could be good if someone didn't care for the taste of beets! I like them however. We thought this was a yummy recipe and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
THe whole family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States