Grilled Beets in Rosemary Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
The beets were OK, but a little dry. Also, I questioned putting the marinade and the beets in aluminum foil. I've always heard that vinegar and aluminum interact negatively. I also questioned whether the beets should have been marinated AFTER the grilling. The raw beets were hard to handle, and I wonder if the flavor wouldn't have been more intense with marinating after the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
wow, what a superb sweet/savoury/smoky dish for the summer, THE BEST i've ever had beets, i've got peeps hooked on these and everyone wants this simple yet deep-flavoured recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was a really wonderful dish, and a welcome addition to any bbq dinner. I bought some golden beets (deep yellow flesh) at a local farmers' market, and was looking for a way to prepare them on the grill. I peeled the beets, which the recipe doesn't specify, and I used thyme, marjoram & savory in place of herbes de provence, and added salt and pepper. The balsamic vinegar complements the beets very well. I will definitely make this again--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I liked this recipe for beets. My husband, who doesn't even like beets, said he it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was ok. Came out tasting like pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fritzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This is a wonderful dish for a barbecue or with a fancy dinner - you can serve it with just about anything but breakfast. We don't eat fresh beets all that often but about once a month I'll fix this dish and my husband loves it. I don't mess with the original recipe, just make it up as it's written. It tastes just as good (or even better) the next day if you have any leftovers at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Excellent!! Very easy and delicious! Even my kids (who thought they didn't like beets)gobbled them up. We will be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I made these for dinner last night. My husband thought they were great, but I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Tasty....grilled them a little too hot so I will try again a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Yum, these were a great new way to make beets! Next time I'd grill them a little longer though, since mine were still a little firm. Also, the recipe doesn't specify to peel the beets, but I did it anyway because I can never seem to get them clean enough by scrubbing. Oh, and don't use a wood cutting board or it will end up pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States