Grilled Beer Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I used a whole chicken split lenghtwise as instructed. I followed the recipe as written until it came time to close all the vents. After 45 minutes on the grill bone side down, the meat only registered 153 degrees. I went ahead and flipped the chicken halves over, threw garlic powder on the coals, closed the vents and set the timer for 5 minutes. After 10 minutes the coals began to die and to lose heat and the chicken was not registering over 153 degrees - it had stopped cooking. I ended up opening the vents again to give oxygen to the coals. The chicken started cooking again and the dish registered 165 degrees by the time the marinade was used up. Very moist and delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Used this as a marinade and just didn't have a whole lot of flavor, BUT I used a light beer, so I will make it once more with a dark beer to see if there is a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I don't have a BBQ so I put the whole chicken with the 1/2 the butter/beer mixture in my slow cooker. After about 6 hours I took off the lid and transferred it to the oven to crisp the skin. IT WAS DELICIOUS. Next time I may try another reviewers suggestion of a brown sugar/chilli mixture just to mix up the flavours a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was great and easy. The taste was very flavorful and most important it was cooked through and moist. My wife says I always under cook grilled chicken but this was done to perfection. I split a 7 lb oven-stuffer roaster. Well save this one for future BBQ's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I still find it best to put the chicken on the beer can... and then there is no turning of the chicken needed..the chicken turns out with a crispy skin and a very tender and juicy meat.. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle Lelievre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I went straight to the recipe review (which I usually do) for this one and read the two reviews complaining about the picture of the two whole chickens on the grill. It appears to me that someone has apparently adapted the original recipe into their variation of a "Beer But Chicken" recipe. No big deal - looks great to me! Thank you to the submitter for what sounds (and looks) like a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Adhered to the ingredients pretty tight, but cooked different: first smoked with hickory at 225F for an hour, then spit and transfered to the grill. The garlic on the coals produces an awesome aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
marinade tasted great and basting it in the cut-up half bowl is a terrific idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoenix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Deceptive photo. This is NOT BEER CAN CHICKEN! Made this today, and it was wonderful. WOULD do it again. THE char and the flavor of the garlic were wonderful. THE beer kept it moist throughout. No more tomato sauced bbq chicken for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I agree the beer can up the whatsit works very well. I mix dried tarragon with olive oil and finely grated garlic. I put this under the breast skin and microwave the chicken for 10 mins then rub the outside with the tarrogon mixture put it on the can of beer and place in the weber. About 45 mins should do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States