Grilled Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
We really loved this recipe. I fixed it just as it says,. except I put my potatoes in the microwave for 2 minutes then turned them over for another 2 minutes, cut them in half and brushed the tops with olive oil mixture. They were on the grill for about 10 minutes. Skins were so cruncy and potatoes were so tasty. Will be sure and fix them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
GREAT!!! This is the best with your grilled meats in the summer. I tried it as written, then made my tweaks. New potatoes (red or white) are the best. Added crushed fresh garlic instead of powder, and grilled both the skin and the "flesh" until nicely browned and crunchy on the outside. In my opinion, there's no need to drizzle the remaining oil afterwards, it tastes great as is. Make sure to add a little salt on top while they're still warm. Made this for a family barbeque, and got rave reviews. Easy to make-ahead- just pre-cook the potatoes and store in fridge with oil mixture until ready to use, then grill. UPDATE 8/19/10 I tried this basic method with sweet potatoes, cut in thick slices. YUM! Fresh Garlic and Rosemary are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I've tried this wonderful recipe with reds, yukons and Idahos, and we really prefer the first two. The consistency of those potatoes held up great to the spices and grilling. Super-flavorful, crispy outsides and soft insides. We love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Excellent flavor and impressive presentation. I didn't bother to pre-cook the potatoes. Just tossed them with the olive oil and seaonings and placed them, flesh side down (for nice browning) in a pan made of heavy duty foil. Delicious and beautifully golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I've made these a number of times now and I use individual microwave potatoes to cut down on the time. I also lightly score the potatoes before tossing them in the olive oil mixture. I cut the amount of black pepper in half. These always come out nice and crispy. I don't drizzle them with any extra olive oil afterwards, just a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I took the last reviewers advice and used red potatoes. I cut each one in half and followed the remaining directions. Yum! These have that great fried potatoes crisp on the outside without a lot of fat. I will be making these again. Fast and easy yet worthy enough to serve to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I skipped the boiling process and just microwaved for a few minutes. Then quartered and let marinate in the fridge until I was ready for them. Great flavor off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This is a great alternative to fried potatoes! I have made them twice and they are simple and taste sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
There is not enough "marinade" for these potatoes as listed in the recipes, although it tastes delicious after cooking. I would suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
LOVED IT! I made a double batch, and so glad I did! I followed the recipe exactly, mixed the spices together and dredged the potatoes in the mix; I found that I had to add more oil as I went along. I had some spice mixture left over, and I used it to season some portobello mushrooms I was grilling (added balsamic vinegar for that). Keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing,Todd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States