Grilled Bacon Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I actually made these in the oven. It was just to hot outside to cook. At least inside you have air. I did cut out the salt as I felt the bacon would add that ing. I also cut back on the brown sugar. Sprinkled a dusting of brown sugar onto wedges of potatos. Secured Bacon with toothpicks. Brushed potatos with oil wrapped in foil and cooked till tender. Yummy, I do plan on doing the grill method as soon as it cools off outside. Thanks so much for the post. A new twist on a baked or grilled potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These potatoes are excellent. My husband does not like baked potatoes so I was hesitant to try these, but even he loved them! The sweetness of the brown sugar worked wonderfully with the bacon and potato. They were a huge hit with my family. I pre-baked the potatoes in the oven so they wouldn't have to grill as long. When they were tender I took them out and added the rest of the ingredients and put them in the fridge until grill time. It's a great, low effort, make ahead side dish. They only took about 20 minutes on the grill doing it this way. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this recipe by the method rather than using the exact measurements. My potatoes were much smaller than baking potatoes, so I decreased all the other ingredients. I also got to try out the tip I had heard that said to slice the potatoes on the bowl of a wooden spoon to keep from slicing through. It works! I baked these in foil in a 400 degree oven for 1 1/4 hours. The men at dinner really liked this recipe. They said it has a salty/sweet flavor that really complements the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
i made these for my camping trip and due to the size of the potato, it took about an hour and a half to cook them. I left them in the coals of our campfire. The bacon was delicious, but our brown sugar mixture settled on the bottom. still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is a really great recipe! Just the right amount of bacon flavor! They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I am not a fan of potatoes but this recipe intrigued me and fit with my "bacon BB" theme. Adding olive oil AFTER wrapping it in bacon – over kill on the grease factor I think - + what do you brush? The bacon? - It called for 1 cup brown sugar for 4 potatoes. I did six and felt 1 C was way too much - I left the salt out – already in the bacon - I wrapped them “loosely” but was afraid oil/fat would leak out so they weren’t THAT loose. That being said, i would like to try them again so any suggestions are welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Really great spin on the regular baked potatoe. Very tasty & sweet. The bacon adds just the right amount of salty to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made these yesterday and loved them! I used small to medium potatoes and I microwaved them until done, then cooked them on the grill as directed. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really good..big big big hit with my hubby and teenagers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Great recipe. I loved the flavor of these potatoes... no butter needed here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States