Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
One of my favorites, make these several times of year. Usually make 2-3 dozen for a party so it is a time investment for sure. Main suggestion I would have that I always do is add a piece or two of shrimp (or cooked chicken) prior to wrapping. If you like it hot, leave in the white stuff and the seeds. I usually do half and half. I don't use gloves because I think they are a pain but be sure to wash your hands PRIOR to using the bathroom, not just after! My dad helped last year and he ended up doing the hot pants dance. Other suggestions...I like using thick bacon. Pepper crusted is best but Maple will do. Don't use those wussy toothpicks, get the bigger ones. Use full fat cream cheese and a good brand, don't use the generic or fat free - it comes out like plastic. These are also best if you can cook them in indirect heat on your smoker for about an hour and then move them to over a medium heat to crisp the bacon. Don't put directly over a high heat as they will need CONSTANT attention not to ruin them. Also - Try using OTHER larger peppers too, just core, don't split. fill with the cream cheese and shrimp. wrap a couple pieces of bacon. Mixing spices into the cream cheese sounds good! I will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChadRo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is a SOLID 5 star appetizer!!! Very simple ingredients, yet very time consuming to make...I agree, absolutely make these ahead of time!!! I can't stress enough the importance of cleaning jalapenos out THOROUGHLY...unless you don't mind your mouth on fire!! I usually cut bacon slices in half and it's still plenty of bacon flavor:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I LOVE these! I use garlic herb cream cheese, add red pepper flakes, if I have havarti jalapeno cheese I will line the pepper with 1/4 slice, then the cream cheese, wrap the bacon and cook in the toaster oven. I make them at work for my co workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Always a crowed pleaser in our house! I add jalapeno cream cheese which adds a kick of deliciousness! When we can't grill them we add real bacon pieces on top of the jalapeno cream cheese and pop them in the oven at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. (give or take)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These were so good! I had to bake them for 30 minutes at 350. I used turkey bacon which comes cooked. I added some shredded cheese and cut some defrosted fully cooked chicken fries in half and put them on top of the cheese. The bacon I put on lengthwise to help keep the cheese from going out the top wide part. I baked them on a foil lined sheet sprayed with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The yummiest way we have found to do these, is to follow the directions, but after you have wrapped them in bacon, roll them in a mixture of 1 c. brown sugar mixed with 1 Tbls. chili powder. Then cook. We have baked them on a broiler pan at 400 degrees for about 20-25 minutes, or until bacon is crisp. There is never any left and everyone wants the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Just made these and they turned out terrific! Baked them at 400 degrees for 25 min. and they were perfect. Used another person's idea of keeping the jalapeno whole with the top on and just using a t-cut to take out seeds. Also used my husbands jalapeno caribou bacon and it was so tasty! I would also recommend boiling them for a few minutes before stuffing to start them out a little tender so they are done all the way. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These are perfect for football or gathering. I make them all the time....but most of the time I just bake them in the oven. I bake them for 30-45 mins at 350. This usually cooks the spicy hotness out of the jalapeno.....because I am a whimp and do not like super spicy food. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My dad would bake these in the oven as well. My parents loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States