Grilled BBQ Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Obviously using the grill to cook you do not want meatloaf that is too wet but I did add 1/4 salsa to the meat mixture for added flavor. Meatloaf turned out awesome! However next time, after the first 30 minutes, I may flip it in order to get that crispy sear on all 4 sides, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishchic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
We are trying to find as many things to grill outside so we don't heat up the house cooking and I gotta tell ya - it's a great thing that we can BBQ year 'round because this is the most amazing meatloaf ever! I was told that I am not allowed to make it any other way anymore. Although I made som subtle changes to the original (sans pork and added an extra egg), the base recipe is pretty much perfect. We smoked it and it had a wonderful red rim and just a little crunch. Mmmmmmm....even leftovers were surperb. WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is a very good meal. Made triple recipe. However, I changed it slightly. Added mustard to the sauce and removed the meatloaves at 145 degree, covered them for 5 to 8 minutes and they were near 150 degrees when they were sliced. Everyone loved the meal and meat was done perfectly and still moist. Normally I wouldn't consider serving meatloaf as a main dinner, but this went over big. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Perhaps we cooked it too fast, there was great flavor, but it was very dry. Most likely do this in the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Awesome Recipe. I added brown sugar to the mix, and honey mustard, Worcestershire, and cajun seasoning to the sauce. Amazeballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I didn't use tarragon, just make my standard meatloaf recipe. I add worcestershire or steak sauce and a squirt of mustard to the glaze as well. I did use the recipe's method of shaping and that worked out beautifully. I used a small charcoal grill and moved the coals to the outer ring after heating up. Put the meatloaf on heavy duty foil in center and flipped over/dumped grease halfway through. My Dad and husband thought I was nuts when I said I was grilling meatloaf but they devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Really enjoyed the grilled flavor of this meatloaf. Cut meat amount in half, but left all else the same. Used the top piece of a broiler pan over the grill grate to better support the meatloaf and grilled over indirect coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Grilled meatloaf! Whoda thunk! My husband loves meatloaf but I only make it in the cool months, so this is a treat! I halved it and used just ground sirloin. I did not use the tarragon but added a bit of ketchup to make it moister. I only used BBQ sauce as a glaze. I will definitely make this again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I didn't like the BBQ sauce. I would probably make it again but cover it with ketchup and brown sugar mixture instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I thought I had grilled everything that could be grilled until I saw this recipe. Grilled meatloaf? I made half the recipe for the two of us, but used one whole egg, essentially doubling the amount called for. It was a good idea because had I not done this it might have been a tad dry. For the same reason, I cut back on the amount of bread crumbs by about one-fourth. I’m not a fan of tarragon, so I didn’t use it. I used Penzey’s Chicago Seasoning, probably a good teaspoon for a pound and a half of meat, a mix of ground beef, pork and veal. I found the mix a little dry so I added some of the barbecue sauce/ketchup mixture to the meat mixture – good call, it was excellent! I also added finely chopped celery and green pepper and more Worcestershire than directed. Not wanting the glaze to burn during cooking, I waited until about 20 minutes into the cooking time to spread it on the meatloaves ( I made two small loaves with a half recipe) and then a second time after 15 more minutes. Slow to start cooking, the loaves came to the 160 degree temperature quickly after that. An instant-read thermometer was very helpful. The cooking method was not only intriguing, it also resulted in a perfectly moist and flavorful loaf, although the charcoal flavor was not as apparent as I had thought it would be. All and all, a great meatloaf I wouldn’t hesitate to make again – even in the middle of Wisconsin winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States