Grilled Asian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This had a subtle, nicely balanced flavor, but only after I fiddled with the marinade a bit. First, I used about half the amount of soy sauce called for. I know how it can permeate delicately flavored chicken and it could potentially have made it too salty as well. Half the amount was the right amount. Second, the type of sesame oil was not specified, and it should be. Does the submitter intend the light, cold-pressed sesame oil used for salads and for frying? Or did she intend the boldly flavored *toasted" sesame oil, used for flavor, usually not more than a dribble in ANY dish? I just used my own judgment, using the light sesame oil for the most part and just a little of the rich, brown, toasted sesame oil for its wonderful flavor. Ginger root is not something I use often so I rarely buy it (and I'm not terribly fond of it anyway). A light pinch of ground ginger sufficed. The honey was a nice addition, giving the chicken a beautiful glazed appearance once it came off the grill. The chicken was tender and moist, but I credit Hubs' expertise with grilling for that! Served with Classic Fried Rice and Easy Bok Choy, this was a delicious, darned near memorable meal, and beautiful in its presentation. (Note: I didn't see heating the marinade ingredients as necessary, so I didn't bother with that step. I just used the easier, more common method of just dumping everything into a Ziploc bag. I marinated the chicken as the submitter recommended, about 15 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was very good...I doubled the marinade recipe (cut back on the sesame oil as I have the dark oil), let the chicken thaw in the marinade overnight..tender and good flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Excellent marinade! I doubled the marinade sauce except for the sesame oil, which I kept the same, at 4 tsp. The sesame oil already has a strong flavor so I did not want it overpowering all of the other ingredients. I normally don't add slices of ginger to a marinade, I grate the fresh ginger root for a more ginger flavor in the sauce. To the sauce I added 3 cloves of garlic, crushed and also diced. I did not heat up the sauce in a pot as I chose to put it in a ziplock bag. Lastly I added about 2 to 3 Tablespoons of the honey, to taste. I did not want it too sweet but enough to balance out the other ingredients. I poked holes in the thickest part of the chicken breasts with a fork and placed the chicken in the bag to marinate all day. Instead of grilling, I threw them into a casserole dish along with the sauce. I baked the chicken at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Very easy to put together with mouth watering results! I had tender, juicy chicken breasts. The meat was not dry or tough. The sauce was so delicious and balanced with a hint of ginger-not overpowering at all. I poured the sauce all over my rice - that is the way I like it. To complement my meal, I served this with, "Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad," and "Sesame Broccoli Salad," all from this website, (all tasty salads by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I don't usually review a recipe if I don't follow it exactly, but I had to say this was great! I screwed up & didn't cook the marinade first. (Intended to, but I was doing batch cooking & had like 8 different marinades that day - this was the only one that was just "mix & marinade" - and I was on a roll." Anyway - it was delicious. Next time I will make it the right way & I have no doubt it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I used a teaspoon of powdered Jamaican ginger because I had no fresh but it didn't matter, the chicken was juicy and delicious right off my grill! I followed the directions and am cooking the leftover sauce to have the next day with leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was an excellent recipe - my husband loved it! I added an extra clove of crushed garlic, and I cut up the chicken into chunks then marinated it for a full 2 1/2 hours. Instead of grilling it, I poured the marinade into a frying pan, reduced it slightly then added the chicken and cooked as normal. The taste was wonderful and well soaked into every bite. I paired it with some asian noodles tossed with some sesame oil and a little chili sauce for heat, then poured the sauce from the cooked chicken over top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candyleah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Tried this just yesterday. Really good! I didn't have any sesame oil so instead I used ground sesame seeds. It still turned out amazing. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Yum. I cooked the chicken on the stove instead of grilling it, and it was still pretty tasty. Served with the Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I doubled the sauce as others suggested. We loved the flavor. Will make again. Simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Thank you Janet! I love this marinade. After tasting how delicious it was on chicken, the next night I made salmon using this marinade - - - as I ate a bite, my mouth watered for the next bite! The only subtle change that I made, was to grate the ginger root instead of using slices (used 1 Tbsp of grated ginger root).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Grilled Chicken

See how to make a quick-and-easy marinade for tender grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States