Grilled Asian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Excellent marinade! I doubled the marinade sauce except for the sesame oil, which I kept the same, at 4 tsp. The sesame oil already has a strong flavor so I did not want it overpowering all of the other ingredients. I normally don't add slices of ginger to a marinade, I grate the fresh ginger root for a more ginger flavor in the sauce. To the sauce I added 3 cloves of garlic, crushed and also diced. I did not heat up the sauce in a pot as I chose to put it in a ziplock bag. Lastly I added about 2 to 3 Tablespoons of the honey, to taste. I did not want it too sweet but enough to balance out the other ingredients. I poked holes in the thickest part of the chicken breasts with a fork and placed the chicken in the bag to marinate all day. Instead of grilling, I threw them into a casserole dish along with the sauce. I baked the chicken at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Very easy to put together with mouth watering results! I had tender, juicy chicken breasts. The meat was not dry or tough. The sauce was so delicious and balanced with a hint of ginger-not overpowering at all. I poured the sauce all over my rice - that is the way I like it. To complement my meal, I served this with, "Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad," and "Sesame Broccoli Salad," all from this website, (all tasty salads by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I don't usually review a recipe if I don't follow it exactly, but I had to say this was great! I screwed up & didn't cook the marinade first. (Intended to, but I was doing batch cooking & had like 8 different marinades that day - this was the only one that was just "mix & marinade" - and I was on a roll." Anyway - it was delicious. Next time I will make it the right way & I have no doubt it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I used a teaspoon of powdered Jamaican ginger because I had no fresh but it didn't matter, the chicken was juicy and delicious right off my grill! I followed the directions and am cooking the leftover sauce to have the next day with leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was an excellent recipe - my husband loved it! I added an extra clove of crushed garlic, and I cut up the chicken into chunks then marinated it for a full 2 1/2 hours. Instead of grilling it, I poured the marinade into a frying pan, reduced it slightly then added the chicken and cooked as normal. The taste was wonderful and well soaked into every bite. I paired it with some asian noodles tossed with some sesame oil and a little chili sauce for heat, then poured the sauce from the cooked chicken over top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candyleah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Tried this just yesterday. Really good! I didn't have any sesame oil so instead I used ground sesame seeds. It still turned out amazing. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Yum. I cooked the chicken on the stove instead of grilling it, and it was still pretty tasty. Served with the Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I doubled the sauce as others suggested. We loved the flavor. Will make again. Simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Thank you Janet! I love this marinade. After tasting how delicious it was on chicken, the next night I made salmon using this marinade - - - as I ate a bite, my mouth watered for the next bite! The only subtle change that I made, was to grate the ginger root instead of using slices (used 1 Tbsp of grated ginger root).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This marinade is excellent! I did not make any changes to the recipe except to stir-fry my marinated chicken strips. I then added them to a peanutty pasta dish and it was a very good combination. Thank you for this recipe, it's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very teriyaki in flavor. Ok, but we thought it needed some heat - a shake of red pepper flakes would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Grilled Chicken

See how to make a quick-and-easy marinade for tender grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States