Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a tasty but something was missing and with Swiss I tend to get that at times. For my 'food lovin' palate', Swiss Cheese is a bit too tough and while I like Swiss on somethings (like a nice big, thick Corned Beef Rueben on Rye umm..with Russian dressing and Sauerk)...oh wait...where was I??? Oh!...this sandwich...(ummmm...Ruuueeeben) ok..ok...um...Swiss doesn't really yield much flavor to me with this sandwich. I did however, give 'meself' 4 stars because the second time I used Harvarti Cheese instead. I like the buttery taste of the cheese better with the apples. I love and used Cameo--a little sweeter but still firm. I also butter my bread (100% Whole Grain--nutty flavor/crunchy toasted texture) with "Smart Balance" (omitted olive oil), sprinkled buttered sides with a bit of cinnamon/sugar, put one slice bread *butter sides down* on heated non-stick, put 1 slice of Harvarti down, my thin sliced apple, 1 more slice of Harvarti and then my other slice of bread. Pre-sliced Harvarti is usally thin. Using a wide-wide 'panny-cake' turner i.e spatula--I smashed ever-so gently. Just to help it a long a bit. Yeeuummie. If you try this...don't overdue it on the cinnamon/sugar or you will increase the chance of burning it in spots. Don't have flames or electric too high. Slow toasting is always better even with a 'Classic Grilled Cheese'. SLOWWW TOOOAST. I would have gave myself 5 but mine is a littttttlllle bit more fattening....;o)...but sometimes fat RULES.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were fabulous - the granny smith apples and swiss are such a perfect match - very quick and delicious - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My son really liked this (3yo). Used butter instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is even better if you add a very thinly sliced red onion to it! I like to put mine in a waffle-maker to cook, too! Kids love the pattern it makes on the outside of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was good but I didn't think the flavor was all that exciting. It was just missing SOMETHING. Not sure what though. A good sandwich nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I was so surprised by how good this sandwich was! Definitely use Granny Smith apples, I think you need that tartness to make it work. I just used regular wheat bread which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe is perfect as is. It was great served with the Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup on this site. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was so easy to make. I just added a sprinkle of cinnamon also. Love the cheesey yet crispy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Swiss and granny smith just happened to be what I had leftover in the fridge and needed to get rid of, so this was perfect. I'm not normally a huge Swiss cheese fan, but this was a surprisingly yummy combo. I normally dip my grilled cheese in ketchup, but instead I used a creamy dill dip, and it was the perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
this was tasty, i've made it twice in the past few days to use up the ingredients. the first time i made it with french bread, thinking it would grill up nice. unfortunately, it's not the best bread to use b/c it really dried out, plus i cut it too thick. today i made it with some multi-grain sandwich bread. it was good, but i kind of burned it. both times, i finished it off in a 350° oven b/c i like my cheese really melty. so even tho i'm not great at making it (through no fault of its own), i think it's a great flavor combo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States