Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I know this sandwich must be for the NON meat lovers, but a 1/4 lb shaved pastrami would have been better than the apple. To me this was a boring tasting sandwich, by far the bread was the star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Holweger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This sounded so unusual that I had to try it. I don't know how this works, but wow, it does. I used rye bread(had on hand), shredded Jarlsberg Swiss, and a Pipin apple. I also added a few bacon bits. I coated my bread with mayo as my momma taught me to do. Simple, filling, and SO tasty. I think the key is to slice the apples thin as recipe stated. I also layered cheese, apples, then again cheese. My husband even raved about it even tho shocked at the ingredients! Definitely adding this to our regulars. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ransom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
As written, I rate this recipe 4 stars. For those of you who find it a bit bland, consider adding some zip to the mayo. To the mayo add: a bit of lemon juice, salt and honey (all to taste). In my book this brings the recipe up to 5 stars. When making tuna salad, add lemon juice, red wine vinegar, garlic(minced or powder), s&p to the mayo(no honey). You'll have to fool around with the amts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe using a gala apple and a thick slice of sargento swiss cheese. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The Granny Smith apple was way too tart and overbearing. I added prosciutto but you couldn't even taste it with the tart apple. I would make this again with changes...red delicious apple and thinly sliced onion. My husband and I were both in complete agreement. We both decided it was much better when we dipped it in tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Not sure what I was hoping for, but this didn't wow me. Thank you for the idea, though! It's always fun trying new flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I like most things that incorporate apples and I found this recipe accidentally and was very excited about it. My husband refused to try it, but I really loved it. The only change I made was that I used butter on the bread instead of oil. I'm normally not a fan of rye bread, but it worked really well for this recipe. And as someone else said, next time, I would do thicker slices of the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was alright, but not something I'd make very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This didn't do anything for me. The flavors did not "blend" as other people's did. I do not think 1/3 cup of cheese is enough, as I could barely taste it. It was just like eating an apple with bread, which is to say, nothing special. I'll stick with regular grilled cheese sandwiches and have an apple on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I will make it again, and will have fun mixing it up a bit. I didn't have Swiss, so I used sliced muenster and I added a little whole grain mustard on the cheese side of the bread. Everything melded together very nicely. The versatility of the recipe is key to being in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States