Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I gave this a three because while I didn't really care for it, I still ate it. I must just not like swiss. I love grilled cheese sandwiches and I'm always looking for ways to jazz up the basic . I was excited about this one, but the swiss just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
What a great combination of ingredients! The flavours and texture (thinly sliced apples as per directions) go very well together. I used butter instead of oil on the bread. The kids really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Why didn't I think of this before?! Apples and cheese go great together. I used a tart granny smith and some bitter Brie, so the tartness and savoriness balanced perfectly. I've also used St. Andre cheese, which was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie_pee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
It sounded different, so I tried it. It was real good,but I wanted more so I added a slice of ham and cinnamon it was very flavorful,real good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
A freshing taste, quick and easy to make. A perfect light lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fattyfalldown
Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
What a great flavor combination! It's light and quick, a nice fresh twist on grilled cheese. I also experimented with making it in the toaster oven -- didn't need any oil that way, and it took just a few minutes on "toast" (450 degrees). Remember to slice the apples thin, though, or else they'll be a bit cool. Also, I used two slices of swiss cheese per sandwich, rather than shredded swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYPERJOY7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
My mom used to make a swiss fondue and served green apples and french bread with it. This recipe would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very satisfying combo of flavor & texture - I made mine with Granny Smith apple, muenster cheese, and some leftover brie cheese. I used Potato Bread and grilled with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made this today, just for twist on your typical grilled cheese. I used butter for the bread and sliced Swiss. Simple to assemble and great for those moms who need a quick, light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Great combination of flavors. The tanginess of the Granny Smith apple magically disappears and becomes "one" with the other flavors. Can't describe it really, but it really is delicious and I agree with the contributer of the recipe, you have to do this on wheat bread. Tastes so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States