Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved it shared it with family and friends. Wow! Simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
okay - didn't really taste the apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I'm not a fan of this, partially because I disliked the apple cheese combo, but also because it just left a strange taste in my mouth after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Because I was curious with all the high reviews, I prepared this recipe today for lunch, using rye bread, butter instead of oil, and slices of Swiss cheese with a Granny Smith apple sliced thin. It's a nice flavor, but, not something I want to have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My childhood best friend's mom introduced me to this YEARS back... this was one of our favorite after-school snacks! However, this version was lacking flavor in some ways. First, granny smith apples are too tart for this, in my taste. I usually use Fuji or Gala apples. Instead of making it a "sandwich", I take and toast each slice of bread. After toasting, spread a layer of mayo over each slice of bread, top with apples, then cover apples with sliced cheese (I always use Colby jack or cheddar... but swiss works well, too!). Place both slices on baking sheet & broil until cheese has melted. From there, you can either place slices together to create a sandwich, or simply eat each slice on it's own. Great, easy recipe... but definitely needs some sort of condiment!! (I found this version quite 'dry' and too plain in some ways.)I did not like the olive oil, when I tried this version. Maybe some butter would be better... but I really prefer the version I grew up with, using mayo & toasting/broiling instead of treating it like a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I know this sandwich must be for the NON meat lovers, but a 1/4 lb shaved pastrami would have been better than the apple. To me this was a boring tasting sandwich, by far the bread was the star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This sounded so unusual that I had to try it. I don't know how this works, but wow, it does. I used rye bread(had on hand), shredded Jarlsberg Swiss, and a Pipin apple. I also added a few bacon bits. I coated my bread with mayo as my momma taught me to do. Simple, filling, and SO tasty. I think the key is to slice the apples thin as recipe stated. I also layered cheese, apples, then again cheese. My husband even raved about it even tho shocked at the ingredients! Definitely adding this to our regulars. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ransom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
As written, I rate this recipe 4 stars. For those of you who find it a bit bland, consider adding some zip to the mayo. To the mayo add: a bit of lemon juice, salt and honey (all to taste). In my book this brings the recipe up to 5 stars. When making tuna salad, add lemon juice, red wine vinegar, garlic(minced or powder), s&p to the mayo(no honey). You'll have to fool around with the amts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe using a gala apple and a thick slice of sargento swiss cheese. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States