Grill Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Finally, a perfect pizza dough! This has a little less moisture than most other recipes, which I found made for the perfect combination of crunchy exterior and soft, chewy interior. Much more like a Pizzeria Bianco crust than anything else I've tried to replicate. I proofed the yeast with the sugar, rather than adding the sugar to the flour mixture, but aside from that minor adjustment this recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We use this recipe for WAY more than grilling! Makes yummy dough for regular pizza in the oven and can be easily used for garlic knots, too! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Pretty tasty dough- I mixed it in my stand mixer and noticed I needed to add another 1/2-3/4 c. of flour for it to come together. End result was yummy! *A tip I just picked up when letting any yeast dough rise, is turn your oven on to 150 and then turn off while kneading and let the dough rise in your oven. Up north I had no problem with it rising at room temp. But, now in Florida I can't get anything to rise at all unless I do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is a keeper – easy and tasty. Per other reviewers’ suggestions, I grilled it on medium-low for two minutes on one side, flipped it, put the toppings on and finished grilling four to five minutes on the other side. A delicious hearty crust with that smoked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LL
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was afraid to make this, to be honest! I've never made dough from scratch, much less grilled it. But this is a definite make-again! I cooked it over indirect heat on the gas grill 10 or so minutes on a cookie sheet and then flipped it, added the Exquisite Pizza Sauce (from this site), fresh spinach, basil, mushrooms and pepperoni plus swiss (1/4) and mozzarella (3/4) cheese. I turned up the heat and cooked it 5ish minutes - just untill the pepperoni crisped up a tiny bit around the edges. I served it with Roasted Beet, Peach and Goat Cheese Salad (from this site) ... dinner was awesome, I wouldn't change a thing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Ok, I'll be honest. I flubbed the recipe somehow and bought pre-made dough from the store. I let it sit out for a couple hours, rise, get pliable. I rolled it out and threw it on the 'greased' gas grill, waited til it browned on one side, put the toppings on the browned side and put it back on the grill to grill the underneath. It ROCKED!!! It was 35 degrees outside and it was still worth it to cook on the grill as opposed to the oven. Fun and great tasting! Don't put the heat up too high on the grill though.... burn city. And check it often after you flip and put toppings on! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARISITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
After struggling the first few times to stretch the dough evenly I found a you tube video where a guy put olive oil on a cookie sheet and stretched the dough on that. It helps if you oil your fingers too. Now my pizza dough is perfectly round and thin! This made the best pizza I've ever had in my life! We've made it almost every weekend since discovering that we can grill pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is the best ever pizza crust, light and hearty. has the taste of a real firewood grill without the fancy expensive oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This dough was easy to put together and easy to work with. I doubled the recipe, made 10 individual pizzas and let the kids top their own. We grilled one side, flipped the dough, topped them and put them back on the grill. Easy and delicious. And I loved that I didn't have to turn the oven on for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
During recent family get together had 8 grandchildren helping each other make their own dough "from scratch" Each with dough eventually dumped into zip lock bag to rise. What a happy messy time. Grille one side, then put toppings on the grilled side and then put back on grill. then to oven to make bubbly. This is meant to be "an event" a "family activity" in itself. VERY YUMMY VERY FUN!. It also makes up very easily and unmessy when fixing up for a meal for two adults with leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States