Grill Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
This is a great recipe for the adverterous cook! I would suggest that you cook the dough briefly on one side, then turn and add toppings. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I would give this 10 stars if I could.....This was wonderful. We took the pizza dough, cooked it on both sides on low-medium on the grill, bring it inside, put on the toppings on broil it until the cheese bubbles. My husband and I will not ever eat any other pizza again we have decided!! It was SOOOOOO good!!!! The only difference that I did with the dough is adding 2 teaspoons of sugar...it gives it a slightly sweeter flavor, I suggest it highly!! If you want to try the best pizza in the world, MAKE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This fantastic! I'm a yeast novice, so I read all of the reviews and asked for some help on the exchange. BTW: "proofing the yeast" means stirring it in the warm water, (I added 1/2 the sugar then, too) and letting it set until it's foamy (about 10 min). I followed the recipe exactly (except adding 1/2 the sugar to the proofing yeast and 1/2 after). I used my Kitchenaid w/the dough hook for the *hard* work. I let it rise for about an hour, then placed it in the frig for awhile when I went out. I took it out to come to room temp before using. Mr. LTH grilled w/no issues, though I wasn't very clear in my instructions, so he grilled BOTH sides before I could top, so after topping I popped in the oven on broil to warm toppings/melt cheese. This is so cheap & easy it will def be a staple at our house...so many topping combinations to try (Mr. LTH had "traditional" cheese pizza and I brushed mine w/EVOO/garlic and topped w/diced red bell pepper, sweet onion, tomatoes, feta cheese, Italian Cheese Blend, and crushed red pepper.). If you haven't made this yet, MAKE IT! THANK YOU for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My husband and I just loved this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly but increased the sugar to 1 1/2 tsp per other reviews and I'm glad I did. I also followed the other reviews who suggested 5 minutes on one side, then remove from the grill and top the cooked side and put back on grill for 3-5 minutes. Once grilled nicely on the bottom, I move up to the top rack of my grill and the cheese melts...yum! We will definitely be using this recipe throughout the summer--much cooler cooking on the grill than heating up the kitchen! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!! Okay, to be fair yeast breads are my downfall. It took me 2 tries to get my yeast to proof. I used my kitchen aid mixer with dough hook attachment to mix. Even with floured hands, dough was very sticky. I divided into 2 separate dough balls to rise for 1 hour. The dough was very delicate and still quite sticky so I added more flour and kneaded some before rolling out into about two 8" circles. Used a charcoal grill/smoker and got heat up to 250 degrees. Placed on grill *without* toppings first, because my dough was a bit thick. Grilled one side, removed from heat and added toppings. One pizza was basil pesto, fresh mozzarella, and fresh picked roma tomatoes (Pioneer Woman recipe). Back on the grill another 5 minutes, then put under the broiler on low for 3 minutes. Second pizza was tomato sauce, shredded mozzarella and pepperoni. The second pizza we put toppings on *before grilling*. However, because our crust was thicker in took longer to grill. Had to place under the broiler for a few minutes also. Make sure to *place your toppings* on your pizza dough *after* you place it on the pizza peel! When I make these again I will grill one side first BEFORE adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
RAINY DAY tips! Made the dough in the breadmaker, followed the recipe to a "T" otherwise.I let it rise/rest for 15 minutes before I prebaked the crust for about 8 minutes @400. Then added all the toppings and baked for 20 minutes. Easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I made the dough in my bread machine and followed the suggestion of others to cook one side and add toppings after turning the bread over. I used olive oil, a commercial herb blend and freshly grated parmesan cheese and served this as an appetizer for our Memorial Day cookout. It was delicious and actually very easy. You just need to watch it carefully to avoid overcooking, because it only takes a short time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSTRAWDER
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
The pizza was wonderful, however, it was easier to burn than my husband and I had anticipated. I think next time we will remove the dough from the grill while we add the toppings to keep it from getting too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
EXCELLENT!!! I was skeptical at first, but decided to try it anyway and am I glad I did. I took another person's advvice and cooked it a few minutes and then flipped it and added my toppings. YUMMY!!! Can't wait to grill again. Next time I'm going to try making pizza this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Excellent recipe. I placed the dough in a lightly oiled bowl, covered with plastic wrap, and allowed it to rise 1-1/2 hours. Will make it again many times over the summer. Already planning my next toppings! Thanks for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States