Grill Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!! Okay, to be fair yeast breads are my downfall. It took me 2 tries to get my yeast to proof. I used my kitchen aid mixer with dough hook attachment to mix. Even with floured hands, dough was very sticky. I divided into 2 separate dough balls to rise for 1 hour. The dough was very delicate and still quite sticky so I added more flour and kneaded some before rolling out into about two 8" circles. Used a charcoal grill/smoker and got heat up to 250 degrees. Placed on grill *without* toppings first, because my dough was a bit thick. Grilled one side, removed from heat and added toppings. One pizza was basil pesto, fresh mozzarella, and fresh picked roma tomatoes (Pioneer Woman recipe). Back on the grill another 5 minutes, then put under the broiler on low for 3 minutes. Second pizza was tomato sauce, shredded mozzarella and pepperoni. The second pizza we put toppings on *before grilling*. However, because our crust was thicker in took longer to grill. Had to place under the broiler for a few minutes also. Make sure to *place your toppings* on your pizza dough *after* you place it on the pizza peel! When I make these again I will grill one side first BEFORE adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love making individual pizza's on the grill with this dough... I have yet to try it as a garlic bread... but I think that would be very yummy and work well with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Unbelievably delicious! My entire family raved over this, and we will definitely be making this regularly. It was so easy to make; used the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook. My husband did the grilling and my son and I put toppings on, a true family meal! I took others' suggestions and grilled one side, added toppings to it, and returned it to the grill to finish the other side. Brushed on garlic olive oil before putting on toppings. We just did the basics, pepperoni and margherita. Can't wait to experiment with other toppings! Thanks for an awesome recipe, Kristen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Soooo good! Tastes really good the next day too! Definitely in our regular rotation of meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We made two batches of this and used one for personal sized pizzas and the other for breadsticks. I made a simple, traditional pizza sauce and let everyone add their own favorite toppings. Kids and adults loved it!! A really fun twist on a backyard bbq! One note - the second time we made these I used Rapid Rise yeast. It did not taste as good as when I used regular active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Very good. I topped it with a garlic butter spread, bacon and a mix of mozzarella & cheddar/jack cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Yum, yum, yum! I followed the recipe exactly except I thought an hour and half too much rise time...I let rise 30 min. and it was perfect! Topped with taco cheese, the only topping I had, but I can't wait to try this again with other toppings. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Lol, When I read BEANY's review that this is for the 'adventurous cook,' i took it as a challenge! Love the recipe - and thanks to all for the topping suggestions. I'm gonna have a lot of fun with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I couldn't belive how easy and good this recipe was. I made this at least 5 times this summer for family and friends. I also added some dried herbs (oregano and basil, garlic powder) to the dough a few times. Very tasty! Definately take it off the grill to add toppings to the grilled side. The cornmeal will help it slide right back on the grill with out disturbing the cheese etc. My favorites are bbq chicken with smoked mozz. and artichoke and sundried tomatoes. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Love this stuff! Great with slices of tomato, basil and a little olive oil. Or make smaller rounds and let every one make their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States