Grill Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I wanted to grill but wanted to do something different. I don't bake and the last bread I made was 20 years ago! This was easy and enjoyed by all! I followed the other's suggestion and grilled one side first before topping. I will definitely make this again. I served grilled pineapple and orange slices for a refreshing side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I precooked the dough on one side then we put toppings on that side (so the uncooked side was on the grill). Everyone got to make their own pizza, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFAHRION

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbits

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
We love to make pizzas on the grill when the weather is nice - this is a good workable recipe. I always make sure to add the flour slowly to get a good consistency for kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This fantastic! I'm a yeast novice, so I read all of the reviews and asked for some help on the exchange. BTW: "proofing the yeast" means stirring it in the warm water, (I added 1/2 the sugar then, too) and letting it set until it's foamy (about 10 min). I followed the recipe exactly (except adding 1/2 the sugar to the proofing yeast and 1/2 after). I used my Kitchenaid w/the dough hook for the *hard* work. I let it rise for about an hour, then placed it in the frig for awhile when I went out. I took it out to come to room temp before using. Mr. LTH grilled w/no issues, though I wasn't very clear in my instructions, so he grilled BOTH sides before I could top, so after topping I popped in the oven on broil to warm toppings/melt cheese. This is so cheap & easy it will def be a staple at our house...so many topping combinations to try (Mr. LTH had "traditional" cheese pizza and I brushed mine w/EVOO/garlic and topped w/diced red bell pepper, sweet onion, tomatoes, feta cheese, Italian Cheese Blend, and crushed red pepper.). If you haven't made this yet, MAKE IT! THANK YOU for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
The cooking method of this recipe is what sets it apart from other pizza dough recipes. The dough is just basic pizza dough, and very good by the way. Don't know why I never tried baking pizza on the grill, it's GREAT! We made 4 small pizzas. We cooked one side and brought them in to assemble the toppings on the cooked side, then they went back on the grill to finish. The texture of the crust was perfect, crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. These do cook quick and therefore can burn very quick. I stayed with them and using 2 spatulas rotated them around frequently to evenly cook the crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!! Okay, to be fair yeast breads are my downfall. It took me 2 tries to get my yeast to proof. I used my kitchen aid mixer with dough hook attachment to mix. Even with floured hands, dough was very sticky. I divided into 2 separate dough balls to rise for 1 hour. The dough was very delicate and still quite sticky so I added more flour and kneaded some before rolling out into about two 8" circles. Used a charcoal grill/smoker and got heat up to 250 degrees. Placed on grill *without* toppings first, because my dough was a bit thick. Grilled one side, removed from heat and added toppings. One pizza was basil pesto, fresh mozzarella, and fresh picked roma tomatoes (Pioneer Woman recipe). Back on the grill another 5 minutes, then put under the broiler on low for 3 minutes. Second pizza was tomato sauce, shredded mozzarella and pepperoni. The second pizza we put toppings on *before grilling*. However, because our crust was thicker in took longer to grill. Had to place under the broiler for a few minutes also. Make sure to *place your toppings* on your pizza dough *after* you place it on the pizza peel! When I make these again I will grill one side first BEFORE adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love making individual pizza's on the grill with this dough... I have yet to try it as a garlic bread... but I think that would be very yummy and work well with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Unbelievably delicious! My entire family raved over this, and we will definitely be making this regularly. It was so easy to make; used the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook. My husband did the grilling and my son and I put toppings on, a true family meal! I took others' suggestions and grilled one side, added toppings to it, and returned it to the grill to finish the other side. Brushed on garlic olive oil before putting on toppings. We just did the basics, pepperoni and margherita. Can't wait to experiment with other toppings! Thanks for an awesome recipe, Kristen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Soooo good! Tastes really good the next day too! Definitely in our regular rotation of meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States