Grill Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Superb! Don't hide this wonderful crisp-tender-chewy grilled dough under a heaping pile of toppings -- in this case less IS more. Even left unadorned, the grilled dough shines with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkling of coarse salt. For ease of grilling, make sure grill grates are well oiled prior to plopping the dough down. And as other reviewers have mentioned, it is so much easier to grill one side, flip, then add toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Excellent!! We just bought a Kamado Kooker and wanted to try pizza on it. I followed the other suggestions and grilled for 2 minutes, brought inside and topped the grilled side, and then grilled for 5 minutes. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I can never get my dough to rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made dough in my bread maker and it turned out great. I suggest brushing crust with olive oil and placing fresh mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes on top. Thanks for a fun grilling idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Finally, a perfect pizza dough! This has a little less moisture than most other recipes, which I found made for the perfect combination of crunchy exterior and soft, chewy interior. Much more like a Pizzeria Bianco crust than anything else I've tried to replicate. I proofed the yeast with the sugar, rather than adding the sugar to the flour mixture, but aside from that minor adjustment this recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We use this recipe for WAY more than grilling! Makes yummy dough for regular pizza in the oven and can be easily used for garlic knots, too! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Pretty tasty dough- I mixed it in my stand mixer and noticed I needed to add another 1/2-3/4 c. of flour for it to come together. End result was yummy! *A tip I just picked up when letting any yeast dough rise, is turn your oven on to 150 and then turn off while kneading and let the dough rise in your oven. Up north I had no problem with it rising at room temp. But, now in Florida I can't get anything to rise at all unless I do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is a keeper – easy and tasty. Per other reviewers’ suggestions, I grilled it on medium-low for two minutes on one side, flipped it, put the toppings on and finished grilling four to five minutes on the other side. A delicious hearty crust with that smoked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Larra Van Dyke
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was afraid to make this, to be honest! I've never made dough from scratch, much less grilled it. But this is a definite make-again! I cooked it over indirect heat on the gas grill 10 or so minutes on a cookie sheet and then flipped it, added the Exquisite Pizza Sauce (from this site), fresh spinach, basil, mushrooms and pepperoni plus swiss (1/4) and mozzarella (3/4) cheese. I turned up the heat and cooked it 5ish minutes - just untill the pepperoni crisped up a tiny bit around the edges. I served it with Roasted Beet, Peach and Goat Cheese Salad (from this site) ... dinner was awesome, I wouldn't change a thing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larra Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Ok, I'll be honest. I flubbed the recipe somehow and bought pre-made dough from the store. I let it sit out for a couple hours, rise, get pliable. I rolled it out and threw it on the 'greased' gas grill, waited til it browned on one side, put the toppings on the browned side and put it back on the grill to grill the underneath. It ROCKED!!! It was 35 degrees outside and it was still worth it to cook on the grill as opposed to the oven. Fun and great tasting! Don't put the heat up too high on the grill though.... burn city. And check it often after you flip and put toppings on! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARISITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States