Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Needs a little moisture added to the pan to help the greens wilt. I usually add the kale fairly wet after I have just rinsed it off. That seems to help. I like to do this with kale only, no beet greens. I usually don't have the pancetta so I cheat and use the ready cooked bacon bits that come in a little pouch. And they are less fat. I like to finish this off with either a dash of chipotle chili powder or smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I've been looking for ways to include more greens in my family's diet and this recipe was so easy it's a keeper! I added a touch of bacon grease which may have contributed to its yumminess, but didn't kill the healty-ness, I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
wow -- this is amazing! After making Creamy Beet & Dill soup I found this recipe to use for the beet greens. This is definitely a keeper! Very versatile to other greens, too. We didn't have kale - so we just left it out. I used 2 extra sticks of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
YUM! I only had greens from 1/2 doz beets out of the garden and used just that. also only a white onion i had on hand. i like bacon so next time will add 1 or 2 slices more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I've been eating greens prepared this way (without the wine) all my life and make it often myself - this is the standard way of cooking vegetables in Italian households. My favorite is with Swiss Chard - you must cook it quite awhile so it becomes tender and mild. Beet greens are a close second! Ceci beans (garbanzo beans) may be used instead of cannellini beans and it's just as good without beans too. I love this stuff so much I could make a meal of it on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very savory... delicious mix of flavors I hadn't considered before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Sliced my garlic and skipped the beet greens, used dried beans. My red onion was bad so I used a bunch of scallions. Will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Loved this!!! I was looking for a way to incorporate kale into our meals as a side dish and this was perfect!!! So delicious! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Nice dish! I added some chopped tomatoes and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Used Garden Spinach, 1/2 Of A Small Onion, 1 Clove Of Garlic, And A Couple Dashes Of Crushed Red Pepper. Needed More Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States