Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Needs a little moisture added to the pan to help the greens wilt. I usually add the kale fairly wet after I have just rinsed it off. That seems to help. I like to do this with kale only, no beet greens. I usually don't have the pancetta so I cheat and use the ready cooked bacon bits that come in a little pouch. And they are less fat. I like to finish this off with either a dash of chipotle chili powder or smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I've been looking for ways to include more greens in my family's diet and this recipe was so easy it's a keeper! I added a touch of bacon grease which may have contributed to its yumminess, but didn't kill the healty-ness, I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Loved this!!! I was looking for a way to incorporate kale into our meals as a side dish and this was perfect!!! So delicious! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Nice dish! I added some chopped tomatoes and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Sliced my garlic and skipped the beet greens, used dried beans. My red onion was bad so I used a bunch of scallions. Will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I've been eating greens prepared this way (without the wine) all my life and make it often myself - this is the standard way of cooking vegetables in Italian households. My favorite is with Swiss Chard - you must cook it quite awhile so it becomes tender and mild. Beet greens are a close second! Ceci beans (garbanzo beans) may be used instead of cannellini beans and it's just as good without beans too. I love this stuff so much I could make a meal of it on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very savory... delicious mix of flavors I hadn't considered before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
wow -- this is amazing! After making Creamy Beet & Dill soup I found this recipe to use for the beet greens. This is definitely a keeper! Very versatile to other greens, too. We didn't have kale - so we just left it out. I used 2 extra sticks of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
YUM! I only had greens from 1/2 doz beets out of the garden and used just that. also only a white onion i had on hand. i like bacon so next time will add 1 or 2 slices more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Used Garden Spinach, 1/2 Of A Small Onion, 1 Clove Of Garlic, And A Couple Dashes Of Crushed Red Pepper. Needed More Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States