Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is a great and easy way to use up the greens from your fresh beets. I did make a couple of changes: 1. I rendered the bacon in a pan and used some of the leftiver fat to cook the onions in. 2. At the end, I added a splash of balsamic vinegar, which really seemed to brighten up all the flavors. 3. I served with a sprinkling of freshly grated parm over each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Awesome! My husband INHALED this! He said it reminded him of his grandma's cooking (she's very southern and used to make him collard greens, white beans and ham). I couldn't find beet greens, so I used 2 bunches of kale. I also used 5 slices of pancetta since I can only find the paper-thin stuff. I also added some fresh ground pepper. Excellent for a light and healthy dinner. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Wonderful success with my older parents. I am the designated greens cooker (usually collards) for family dinners. I thought I would try this "greens and beans" recipe as a change. It was a major success. They not only wanted the recipe but took home the little that was left in "people bags". Easy and delicious. And "greens and beans" was a catchy name they liked too. I briefly cooked the onions in the olive oil. A dash of your favorite hot pepper vinegar will brighten up the greens but I elected to just put the bottle on the table and let each adjust for their taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I've been eating greens prepared this way (without the wine) all my life and make it often myself - this is the standard way of cooking vegetables in Italian households. My favorite is with Swiss Chard - you must cook it quite awhile so it becomes tender and mild. Beet greens are a close second! Ceci beans (garbanzo beans) may be used instead of cannellini beans and it's just as good without beans too. I love this stuff so much I could make a meal of it on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Yum! We call this 'beans & greens'. Used spinach and kale. Doubled the greens and doubled the bacon. Prepped the greens and onion earlier in the day, making dinner a snap! Pan fried the bacon till crisp and then used the drippings to sauté onion and greens. Served with country sausage (didn't need too) - Family was really surprised that they liked it! Will make again and again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We really liked this dish. I used bacon instead of pancetta and I cooked it a little longer than in the recipe. I also didn't have any beet greens so I just used a large bunch of kale. Overall I loved it and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was great - I am always looking for something to add greens to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've been cooking greens this way for a long time (using the bacon), but I never thought of adding cannelini beans. It's a great way to add fiber and protein to an already healthy dish. We enjoyed this and will keep this in mind from now on. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really good! We sprinkled a little imported balsamic vinigar on it as we ate. I used kale and rainbow chard, as some greens are tough to find in New England this time of year. I cooked fully covered so the greens would get a little more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmorin217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Made this without the bacon/pancetta, extra garlic and olive oil and it came out perfect! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States