Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
wow -- this is amazing! After making Creamy Beet & Dill soup I found this recipe to use for the beet greens. This is definitely a keeper! Very versatile to other greens, too. We didn't have kale - so we just left it out. I used 2 extra sticks of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Sliced my garlic and skipped the beet greens, used dried beans. My red onion was bad so I used a bunch of scallions. Will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Needs a little moisture added to the pan to help the greens wilt. I usually add the kale fairly wet after I have just rinsed it off. That seems to help. I like to do this with kale only, no beet greens. I usually don't have the pancetta so I cheat and use the ready cooked bacon bits that come in a little pouch. And they are less fat. I like to finish this off with either a dash of chipotle chili powder or smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very savory... delicious mix of flavors I hadn't considered before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I think the recipe needs to add liquid or chicken broth to the steaming process. It definitely adds flavor. I had never tried kale (used kale only)before and I do think it is a bit bitter. My husband also made a red wine reduction to go on top of the greens. That helped with the flavor. Will make again and pass on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkharder73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was great - I am always looking for something to add greens to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I agree with the last entry--too dry and greens didn't wilt enough. Definitely would add chicken broth to make it better, as it is pretty bland. I also used pancetta and i think next time I'd use bacon for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as posted and then tasted it. It was too dry for my liking, so I ended up adding one cup of low sodium chicken broth and cooking it about 5 minutes longer. I would make it again, with the broth, and I might even add an additional five minutes, because I like my greens quite tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Best greens recipe I've made so far. Kids loved it. It is so easy! I will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Awesome! My husband INHALED this! He said it reminded him of his grandma's cooking (she's very southern and used to make him collard greens, white beans and ham). I couldn't find beet greens, so I used 2 bunches of kale. I also used 5 slices of pancetta since I can only find the paper-thin stuff. I also added some fresh ground pepper. Excellent for a light and healthy dinner. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States