Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
A very tasty way to eat your greens. Good leftover too. I used bacon because that's what I had on hand. 2nd time I left beans out because I didn't have any. I poured just a little honey mustard dressing over the beanless dish and it brought the flavors out beautifully. I plan to make this again. Funny thing, I thought I didn't like bitter greens but we got some in our CSA share so I tried this recipe without much hope. I am so glad I was wrong! Now I will crave these when the beet greens run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My garden has produced an abundance of Swiss chard so I tried this recipe using the chard in place of the kale and beet greens, it was excellent! It was the first dish I made with Swiss chard that my boyfriend actually liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Yum! We call this 'beans & greens'. Used spinach and kale. Doubled the greens and doubled the bacon. Prepped the greens and onion earlier in the day, making dinner a snap! Pan fried the bacon till crisp and then used the drippings to sauté onion and greens. Served with country sausage (didn't need too) - Family was really surprised that they liked it! Will make again and again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
A fantasically healthy and fast veggie side. Browned the bacon in the pot that was made in, and used the bacon grease instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Even my 10 and 12 year old daughters came back for seconds. We really enjoyed this dish as a new way to eat greens. I usually just put greens in soups, which is good also, but this was instantly a new favorite of mine. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've made this with kale and collards. For collards, I took others' advice and added a little liquid to steam the collards until they were tender. I also used chopotle pepper and hot sauce to spice it up a little. I've substituted smoked sausage for bacon. I chopped the sausage into bite sized pieces and cooked it in the olive oil with the onion. Less smoky flavor with the sausage, but good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I thought this was great. It was so easy too. I just sprinkled real bacon bits over the top at the step since I didn't have pancetta. I also used 2 cans of large butter beans because that was what I had. I use 2 because I thought it made it more of a meal. And I added 1/4 cup of chicken broth to tie it all together, and because I like my greens a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
delish - ate this as a main course and it was very filling (plus so nutritious). My only thing was that the kale was still a bit "raw" tasting. I probably should have just let it cook longer, but otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good greens recipe. I used 1/2 beet greens from my garden, and 1/2 fresh spinach from my garden. Very yummy and easy way to use up those greens! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States