Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
If you are partial to greens, this is a great recipe. I used collards (from my greenhouse) and the pancetta. I eat my greens with a splash of balsamic vinegar added at the table. My husband likes to add Cholulu hot sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've been cooking greens this way for a long time (using the bacon), but I never thought of adding cannelini beans. It's a great way to add fiber and protein to an already healthy dish. We enjoyed this and will keep this in mind from now on. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Good flavor and easy to make. Both my husband and I enjoyed this dish. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Good stuff! I added some chicken broth and a splash of white wine and let the kale simmer for about half an hour to get tender. Used a bean more like a large pinto bean (don't remember the name)and sprinkled a little red pepper flakes for some zip. Leftovers made a great lunch with some diced fresh tomato stirred in. I think it's even better left for a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I successfully subbed collard greens for beet greens (which my grocery did not have). I'd previously thought greens needed to be cooked for a long time to be tender, but this method worked. Two huge, tasty servings. I added a couple pinches of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Wow! Delicious, we cooked the pancetta in the pan rather than the microwave and used the drippings instead of the olive oil. We also used more garlic. The flavors were fabulous together. We will definitely be making this again and again. We used it as a side, but after tasting it, with crusty bread, we see how this could be a meal in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
OH man this was freaking GREAT!! I followed the recipe except to use the pancetta drippings instead of olive oil. I wasn't sure after I was done it was so easy and simple (i'm used to using lots of seasonings) but it tasted fantastic...even as leftovers!!! Sister liked it with a little balsamic vinegar on it but I liked it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really good! We sprinkled a little imported balsamic vinigar on it as we ate. I used kale and rainbow chard, as some greens are tough to find in New England this time of year. I cooked fully covered so the greens would get a little more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmorin217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Made this without the bacon/pancetta, extra garlic and olive oil and it came out perfect! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We really liked this dish. I used bacon instead of pancetta and I cooked it a little longer than in the recipe. I also didn't have any beet greens so I just used a large bunch of kale. Overall I loved it and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States