Green and Red Tomato and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a great recipe. I really loved the fresh vegetables and combination. I varied slightly based on ingredients I had. I put allspice, a potato, a shallot, and a dash of worcestershire and it was great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Need I say YUMMY! it was excellent. I didn't put as much broth (4-5 cups) but still it turned out great and was the easiest thing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is a great soup recipe - I did "doctor it" with additional seasonings such as Worchestershire sauce and a bit of oregano and basil (minusing the cumin), and, I took all the seeds out of the tomatoes prior to adding to soup. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Wonderful summer soup. I put a lot more corn than was called for and cut back the broth to 4 or 5 cups so that it would be thicker. We added some hot sauce when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe for a hot summer day. I increased the amount of corn slightly and used tomatillos rather than green tomatoes. I also increased the amount of garlic to 3 cloves. The soup is slightly spicy but also refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
A wonderful soup! And a perfect end to the reign of my over zealous tomato plants. I used 6 medium green and 6 mixed bag-ripe yellow and red tomatoes, 8 cups of instant veggie broth, added a handful of chopped up fresh basil, a couple little yellow squashes and a can of red kidney beans. Then just to punch it up (we like things smokin') I threw in 3/4 cup of Bueno brand frozen hot red chile puree. The cut sweet corn is such a great compliment to the tangy tomatoes. Awesome!!! My meat-mongerin' family didn't even notice that we were going Vegan for the night and hunkered-in like it was steak! Took me all of 1/2 hour to make a huge pot. Thank you, thank you, thank you. What a practical, delicious fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This soup is great eaten like tortilla strip soup. Place tortilla chips/strips in the bottom of the bowl and pour the soup over it. Garnish with grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! I added black beans, carrots, and more garlic. A very light, clean, and refreshing soup that is super yummy too. Perfect with a hunk of your favorite bread. You can always experiment with your own favorite seasonings. Highly recommend this versatile soup! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL SOUP. I DID ADD MORE FRESH CORN AND A LOG OF SWEET CREAMED CORN. LEFT THE GREEN TOMATOES OUT AND ADDED A SMALL CAN OF GREEN CHILIES. MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED IT. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I changed it to more of an Italian flavor...Basil and a touch of Oregano instead of the Cummin...At serving, sprinkled with Parmesean Cheese and finely chopped green onions..Served with crunchy Garlic Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States