Green and Bleu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Wonderful salad! This recipe proves there is something to be said for monochromatic dishes - you don't always need to have every color of the rainbpw represented! The light lemony flavor of the dressing, the various shades of green, the addition of peas and fruit remind me of spring. I did substitute goat cheese for the bleu due to my own personal tastes. Truly a beautiful, tasty and refreshing salad! Other than the cheese, the only change I made was to toss in a handful of chopped fresh parsley because I had some left over from another dish I was making - mint would be lovely here, too. I might add a bit of garlic to the dressing next time, and maybe bump up the lemon juice a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by PrincessJenna
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
So Yummy! Wasn't sure I'd like it, afraid there might be too much going on for my tastes but I was mistaken. It was fabulous! Made a few changes. Forgot the green onions, had sugar snap peas instead of regular peas and used goat cheese instead of bleu. Every bite is so full of flavor. And the dressing really brought out the flavors rather than masking them. BF didn't beleive me when I told him the secret ingredient was lemonade. I made extra dressing to have whenever I put a salad together. I'll feel a lot less guilty using this delicious dressing than smothering my salad in some creamy concoction. Spinach and Strawberry Salad has been my fav for a few years but this beats it, hands down. Well done, Sunny, well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing....this is the VERY BEST..love it. We have a Family dinner once a month and everyone loved this...I`m always looking for new recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
What a gorgeous salad and oh so tasty! Loved the light lemony dressing and the crispness of the fruit and veggies. Opted for feta since I'm the only blue cheese eater in the house. Made way more than 4 servings unless you're serving this as a main course. I did as someone else suggested and only dressed the portions we ate. Tomorrow will tell how well it kept. I did top with a half cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Oh Sunny how I truly love you after making this! Restaurant quality by far! The only thing I did differently (I HATE it when people say that) is that I served the bleu cheese on the side along with a side bowl of feta. That way my non-bleu cheese loving friends had an alternative, and there were a few in the crowd. AMAZING salad and that bleu cheese makes the dish. WOW! Everyone loved it! Thanks to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe would get 10 stars if I had the option! The color was phenomenal, and the combination of ingredients, down to the lemonade based dressing was amazing. My family thoroughly enjoyed this salad, and I will be adding this to my Summer menu when I have friends over. Thanks, Sunny B for such an innovative and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I saved this recipe when SunnyByrd used to blog and it is one of the oldest recipes in my recipe box. I finally had the chance to make it and all I can say is DEEEE-lish-ous! I didn't change a thing other than doubling the recipe because I took it to a potluck at work. It was enjoyed by all and one of my coworkers said that "the lovely flavors of the salad danced over her tongue." The next time I make it, I will add a little more oil because the dressing didn't "cling" quite as well as I like. Other than that, fantastic! Great mix of sweet, tart, spicy, crunchy and creamy. A real winner! Thanks SunnyByrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
We loved it - all those different flavors just popped in your mouth. When I first tasted the dressing I was not impressed but poured over the salad it was delicious. I thought the addition of the blue cheese was fantastic but my guy liked it without it so the next time I will just pass around the blue cheese for people to add or not! There are leftovers and I'm looking forward to it tonite. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Oh yes! This is the jazz! Just go to be aware, it's a tad liquid so make sure you toss well before serving. I screwed up the apple selection and put cooking apples in. Bit tart so I added some brown sugar and it was a treat. Great for parties and a 15 serving goes round 20 people easy. Nice one SunnyByrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a delicious salad that's just so full of flavor. I omitted the grapes and celery (personal preference) and subbed walnut oil for peanut. I love the light dressing--it gives flavor without being overpowering or oily, and the hot sauce gives it the tiniest kick. Next time, I may add raisins. Naturally, it got soggy the next day, but the flavor was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States