Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
A wonderful thick smooth soup, I made it as written except for cooking my onion and 3 cloves garlic in approx a teaspoon of olive olive oil first, then adding chicken stock/broth in place of veg broth. I used a food processor to chop up my veggies, so it was super easy!! While my first load of veggies and stock was cooking, processed the zucchini and broccoli and placed in a bowl with the dried basil and pepper, then processed the spinach and placed in second bowl. I used a spoonula for stirring soup as well as scraping my processor bowl. Seasoning was perfect, remember to use ripe veggies for full flavor!! This is a keeper, I'll be making more tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Frenchtown, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I added 1/4 cup of fresh cilantro and parsley, added ham, doubled the split peas,and used chicken broth instead of veg.broth. This was so wonderful that my family asked me to make it again and my mother-in-law and sister-in-law begged for the recipie. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I have recently started a path towards a vegetarian lifestyle and my husband is supportive but not that jazzed up about it. After I made this soup he said if eating veggie was like this he was more than willing to try more recipes. I added a small amout of sour cream to each bowl before serving it gave it a creamer texture though it was great all on its own. I also doubled the split peas like suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
This soup is very healthy and simple. I really like vegetables so I give this one a two thumbs up from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Healthy, hearty and very very filling soup! I used 1/2 of broccoli, 1/2 cauliflower, 6 cups of fresh spinach, 1 tsp dried basil, 1 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp black pepper and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. I sauteed 1 onion, 2 cloves of garlic and a tsp of grated ginger with 1 tbs of butter then added in the celerys, stems of broccoli and potato until tender before adding the broth. It was a tad too thick and salty after blending (but tts bcos i put in 1 tsp of salt, not knowing tt the chicken stock was rather salty!) so i added 3/4 of water and 1/2 cup milk before bringing the pureed soup to heat. This created a nice balance of flavours. The soup had a nice lightly spicy kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookiejar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Made the soup for the first time, I thought it was delicious! I only used 1 small potato and I sauteed the onion and celery first with a little minced garlic in olive oil before adding the fat free chicken broth. Half the batch I pureed with hand blender and the other half left as is, my husband and mother in law preferred it without being pureed, I liked it both ways. Can also top off with a little grated parmesan cheese. Would make again, hardest part was the chopping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I thought this was great until the step when you add the broccoli, zucchini and spinach, and then I didn't really like the taste anymore. Everyone said it was good, but I kind of think they were just being polite. I guess I will make it again, but just as a split pea and potato soup. I sauteed the onion and added some garlic at the beginning. I think that helps a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was very, very good. I used frozen spinach instead of the fresh because that was what I had. I also left out the zucchinis because I didn't have any. I was surprised at how creamy the soup tastes without any dairy or oil. I used this recipe because I figured that the recipe would help disguise the fact that I had let the broccoli go well beyond it's prime - had to chop off quite a bit of the flower portion. It did. Anyway, the soup is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Wow. This was super soup. So easy: just dump the first group of ingredients into a pot, simmer an hour, dump the second group, simmer again, puree. Simple. And really really tasty. Healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I cut the recipe down to 2 servings, sauteed the veggies in EVOO for a couple of minutes first (it helps adds flavor) & I used a half a can of Campbell's split pea soup w/ ham & bacon instead of dried split peas. I had to add quite a bit more broth than called for as the soup was pretty think. I forgot to add the basil but I thought it had great flavor & couldn't believe it was so healthy. I garnished it w/ a swiggle of sour cream & sprinkled some dried parsley on top. Thsi made a wonderful first course to our St Patrick's day dinner...thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States