Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I have recently started a path towards a vegetarian lifestyle and my husband is supportive but not that jazzed up about it. After I made this soup he said if eating veggie was like this he was more than willing to try more recipes. I added a small amout of sour cream to each bowl before serving it gave it a creamer texture though it was great all on its own. I also doubled the split peas like suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I cut the recipe down to 2 servings, sauteed the veggies in EVOO for a couple of minutes first (it helps adds flavor) & I used a half a can of Campbell's split pea soup w/ ham & bacon instead of dried split peas. I had to add quite a bit more broth than called for as the soup was pretty think. I forgot to add the basil but I thought it had great flavor & couldn't believe it was so healthy. I garnished it w/ a swiggle of sour cream & sprinkled some dried parsley on top. Thsi made a wonderful first course to our St Patrick's day dinner...thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I wish there were 6 stars to give this healthy soup! We top it with parmesan or other white cheese. Goes great with crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I left out the split peas and added a little Romano cheese at the end. My nine year old daughter ate it and is taking it for lunch today in her thermos. I also used red potatoes. This tasted a lot like a califlower puried soup that I make, but it took a lot longer. Thanks for the recipe...it is a good way to sneak in an abundance of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was pretty good. Not fantastic, but like another reviewer, I too am rating this more for nutritional value. My husband and I felt so full after one bowl, and you just can't beat all the veggies that are packed in there. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and I did need to add more basil (fresh and dried) and more salt at the end. I'll most likely make this again, but remember to add a bunch more seasoning at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My rating is more for the nutritional content this soup has, rather than for its flavor which was quite bland. Following the recipe as it was yielded a flat, slightly salty flavor. What I did was add sliced portobello mushrooms (150 grams?), a touch of balsamic vinegar, worchestershire sauce, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. The flavor turned out more layered that way, and the Balsamic (I think) probably highlighted the taste of the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Yummy, and I feel so good about eating this -- can't beat this for getting in your veggies! I agree with some of the other reviewers that it may be a bit bland, so I added some extra basil and red pepper flakes. I love the color -- adding the spinach at the end without cooking it really contributes to the bright green color of the soup... it's gorgeous. Someday I will come up with a fun use for this in a themed meal... "Swamp Soup" or something. I think you could have alot of fun with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I added 1/4 cup of fresh cilantro and parsley, added ham, doubled the split peas,and used chicken broth instead of veg.broth. This was so wonderful that my family asked me to make it again and my mother-in-law and sister-in-law begged for the recipie. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Made the soup for the first time, I thought it was delicious! I only used 1 small potato and I sauteed the onion and celery first with a little minced garlic in olive oil before adding the fat free chicken broth. Half the batch I pureed with hand blender and the other half left as is, my husband and mother in law preferred it without being pureed, I liked it both ways. Can also top off with a little grated parmesan cheese. Would make again, hardest part was the chopping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was the nastiest soup I have ever had the displeasure of making. My family called it "Shrek Soup." I gave the leftovers to a friend who is vegan, and her family hated it as well. They fed it to their dog, who got sick. This was BAAAAAAAD. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLCRACKER
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States