Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Oddly enough, this soup gives me and others in my family a burst of energy so we only eat it for lunch. It's good as written but tastes even better with freshly grated parmesan on top. It's colorful, creamy (even though it's dairy free), and nutritious. We've tried adding carrots and other vegetables we had in the refrigerator and it was still good. It's a versatile recipe that easily absorbs just about any vegetables that need to be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
EASY EASY EASY and tasty. Congrats, you made me like something with zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My family really liked it. The flavor is really good! Its a mix between a split pea, broccoli, and potato soup. I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and some onion powder and garlic salt to taste. Next time I might add a red pepper as well. Oh and I didn't use zucchini because it was too expensive right now. Still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
The flavor of this soup is excellent! Even my toddler who hates veggies seemed to enjoy this. Although I love garlic, I'm glad I didn't add it in - it would have altered the flavor too much. Changes: I used homemade chicken broth and added a dollop of sour cream to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Pretty good soup recipe. I added an extra 1/4 cup split peas and extra broccoli because I didn't have any zucchini. When I ate some the next day I added a couple drops of liquid smoke which added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
great thick soup! i added some garlic to it and that really boosted the flavor. i suggest cooking the onion with the garlic before hand with a touch of olive oil. overall, really delicious and very filling! definitely going to repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAemilyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremo Bluff, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I've been making this soup for years with just 2 changes -- add a pinch of cayenne pepper to the soup with the other spices. More important, stir a dollop of plain nonfat yogurt into the soup before eating. It makes all the difference, since the soup begs for a little tang. I've managed to decrease overall cooking time to an hour or less by sauteeing the onion, celery, and potatoes for 5 or 10 minutes, then adding everything but the fresh spinach. I add the spinach during the last 5 minutes, just long enough to wilt, before pureeing with an immersion blender. My husband isn't a plain yogurt fan, but even he agrees the soup tastes better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This soup is sooo very good for you. The reciepe makes enough to feed an army. The only drawback I could see is the texture, after you puree all that green stuff it looks ....well it looks like something you should not be eating, but it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very versatile, very tasty. I used more veggies, added carrots, cauliflower, and garlic, used frozen spinach. I did not use zucchini or bay leaves as I did not have them, and used herbes de provence and several shakes of red pepper flakes to add more flavor. I also used homemade veggie stock and turkey stock as that's what I had. As suggested by other reviewers, this soup was greatly improved by topping with fresh parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was absolutely delicious...1 of the best soups I ever made. I added a carrot, some fresh parsley, cauliflower, bellpepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States