Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I substituted canned split pea soup for the pea soup base to save time so we could have this on a week night. Worked out beautifully. Cooked broccoli, onions, potatoes in veg broth (enough to cover). Added zucchini and pea soup and pepper after a few minutes. When they had cooked through, gave it a whiz with my immersion blender ... and viola ... great soup! My toddler even loved it! Served it with big soft pretles for dipping. Deffinitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Really nice, healthy soup. Creamy without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
wow, this soup was amazing! my fiance didnt like it as much as i did, but he doesn't like pureed soups much. he did say that the flavor was really good, though. if you like pureed soups, this one is definitely a keeper! i wish i had brought some of my frozen leftovers to work today, as i'm really craving it. the potatoes make this soup surprisingly creamy. i bought some half and half because i really wanted it to be creamy. i didnt use any of it. the soup was perfect just as it was. really easy to make, too! the hardest part is the chopping, but i enjoy chopping vegi's. very healthy soup. i'm SO glad i have leftovers!! this may be my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This soup was great for feeding a mass of people quickly. I added several carrots to the mix and a dollop of hot sauce to liven it up a little, and it was great. Some people added a bit of sour cream on top, and enjoyed it that way, too. A great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
1st recipe made from allrecipes.com. Quantities accurate, taste very good, very filling, freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This was very good soup, rich in color and very creamy. On my last bowl at lunch I got it too hot, so added some fat free 1/2 & 1/2. Oh, it was fantastic! It really mellowed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was very, very good. I used frozen spinach instead of the fresh because that was what I had. I also left out the zucchinis because I didn't have any. I was surprised at how creamy the soup tastes without any dairy or oil. I used this recipe because I figured that the recipe would help disguise the fact that I had let the broccoli go well beyond it's prime - had to chop off quite a bit of the flower portion. It did. Anyway, the soup is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
YUMMY!!! Much better than it sounds. Both my husband and my kid (4 years old) ate every bite. Somthing a mama can feel GREAT about serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This soup is delicious! My husband and I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Love it. Easy to make, tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States