Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was the nastiest soup I have ever had the displeasure of making. My family called it "Shrek Soup." I gave the leftovers to a friend who is vegan, and her family hated it as well. They fed it to their dog, who got sick. This was BAAAAAAAD. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLCRACKER
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I will definately make this again. Very healthy and delicious. I also added some hot sauce which gave it some punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
We liked this soup, but it was a little lacking in flavor. When I first read the ingredients, I was expecting a more "green," earthy-tasting soup. I think the potato is what made it more mellow than I was hoping so I think I'll cut out the potatoes next time. I added about twice the bay, basil and black pepper. Lastly, I added about 1/3 c. of chopped fresh parsley. I will make this again, but omit the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great basic recipe. Easy to prepare and turns out great. I did up the bay leaf and basil some and used some green onion in place of the regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDIANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
It was quite nice, we had a split pea, lentil and grain mix sitting there so we used that and it turned out good, needed a little kick some herbs maybe but other wise we all enjoyed, will definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I thought this was great until the step when you add the broccoli, zucchini and spinach, and then I didn't really like the taste anymore. Everyone said it was good, but I kind of think they were just being polite. I guess I will make it again, but just as a split pea and potato soup. I sauteed the onion and added some garlic at the beginning. I think that helps a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
pretty good and very easy. i added honey just until i could barely detect it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Very creamy and flavorful! Also freezes very well. I loved the color and texture. Followed the recipe exactly. I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Fairly good for being so healthy. Probably won't make it again, though, because I've made healthy soups I like much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
A delicious soup! Enjoyed by the whole family! Can use either vegetable broth or chicken broth. With crusty french bread, makes a warm & nourishing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States