Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Can you believe my children actually request this soup??? It is really a simply delicious dish. Easy to modify with what you have on hand and an excellent way to get veggies into the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Made a few changes but overall a great recipe that is very good with parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Way too much work for bland results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I made it with home-made chicken broth and no broccoli, and I increased the amount of split peas to 1 1/4 cups as well as the amount of celery. This is a very very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
We just finished having this for dinner and we LOVED it! If I could give it more then five stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I followed recipe except I sauteed the onion and celery first and used 3 bay leaves instead of 2. It tastes great and is super healthy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
A wonderful thick smooth soup, I made it as written except for cooking my onion and 3 cloves garlic in approx a teaspoon of olive olive oil first, then adding chicken stock/broth in place of veg broth. I used a food processor to chop up my veggies, so it was super easy!! While my first load of veggies and stock was cooking, processed the zucchini and broccoli and placed in a bowl with the dried basil and pepper, then processed the spinach and placed in second bowl. I used a spoonula for stirring soup as well as scraping my processor bowl. Seasoning was perfect, remember to use ripe veggies for full flavor!! This is a keeper, I'll be making more tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Frenchtown, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Surprisingly delicious. I used chicken broth and I didn't puree the mixture. I thought it was very good to taste the different vegetables and it was such a rich, smooth flavor. Perfect comfort food, especially when sick. I cannot rave about this enough, my boyfriend LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The only adjustment I do to go from 4 stars which is what you see posted to 5 stars is to add some Mrs. Dash seasoning of my choice. The exact flavor of Dash varies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Healthy, hearty and very very filling soup! I used 1/2 of broccoli, 1/2 cauliflower, 6 cups of fresh spinach, 1 tsp dried basil, 1 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp black pepper and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. I sauteed 1 onion, 2 cloves of garlic and a tsp of grated ginger with 1 tbs of butter then added in the celerys, stems of broccoli and potato until tender before adding the broth. It was a tad too thick and salty after blending (but tts bcos i put in 1 tsp of salt, not knowing tt the chicken stock was rather salty!) so i added 3/4 of water and 1/2 cup milk before bringing the pureed soup to heat. This created a nice balance of flavours. The soup had a nice lightly spicy kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookiejar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States