Green Velvet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by zeezeebaker
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! I really liked this vegan soup. The recipe is pretty forgiving (I used vegetable bouillon, not broth, only had one potato and used frozen broccoli and spinach). I added a handful of frozen peas (because I had them). For me, the flavor was good, but needed a little enhancement, so I added garlic a little adobo and increased the basil and pepper. Still, I think the recipe was great and will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made two servings of this soup at my annual St. Paddy's Day party this year for my long-time vegetarian friend, as most of the dishes I serve have meat in them. It was delicious! It was difficult keeping my meat eating friends and family away from it. Everyone wanted the recipe. My only tip would be to keep the soup in the blender for as long as it takes - you definitely want the end result to be super smooth. I also made it the night before, and simply heated it in a pot before serving. Yum. Thanks Astrophe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
At first this soup tasted mostly like broccoli and a little bland, so I added 1 teaspoon herbs de Provence and it turned out awesome! A great way to get a lot of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I did everything this recipe called for except I used chicken broth and left out the zucchini (didn't have any). Looks drab but tastes great if you like veggies. Next time I'll add a dash of red pepper flakes for some kick. Great way to get in your veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is a fantastic soup, very flavorful and healthy! And I like the fact that it uses a lot of different vegetables. I used chicken stock and substituted swiss chard for the spinach. Yum! Some people may be put off by the healthy green color :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This soup is so tasty and very healthy. I was actually surprised how flavourful it is. I did add a little chicken soup into the broth but, otherwise, followed the recipe to the 'T'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This soup was pretty tasty and I felt good about eating something so healthy. I have to say, it isn't something that I would crave and want to make all the time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I used this as a base recipe and changed it beyond recognition. Recipes like this are best using home-made stock, and if you find it tastes a little weak/ vegetably, try adding a teaspoon of your favourite chili sauce. This is also great for lettuce that you aren't goping to get around to making a salad with, just put it in with the spinach. Noone will tell when it's blended! I spiced mine with cayenne pepper, oregano, tarragon, basil, chicken salt, and garlic stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Ok...definitely healthy with lots of green stuff! :)...but kind of boring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
a definite restaurant-worthy soup! i added some hot sauce for a little added zing and it turn out perfect. couple this soup with a fresh, local, herbed baguette and some sour cream or creme fraiche and voila! a great soup to make the day before a party too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States