Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Very good flavor! I have made this 3 times this summer, with the last batch having about 4 hot peppers added! We love it with white beans and cornbread. Make it in wide-mouth pint jars, halfpints aren't big enough. Thanks Linda for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Thanks Linda my Mother made this Green Tomato Relish when I was a kid.When she died her recipe's disappeared. My favorite meal was Her Meatloaf with the Relish piled on.Mashed Potatoe's,Gravey, and her Toss Salad, and warm Home Made Bread. I can smell the aroma from her kitchen now 69 years latter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I made a batch of this. It has a very good flavor and is great on sandwiches and burgers. It also makes a interesting tatar sauce when mixed with mayonase or salad dressing. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG MIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
YUMMY!!! My family would eat this as an entree! I made 1/4 of the original recipe. I was able to can 2 wide-mouthed pint jars and 3 half-pint jelly jars from the 1/4 recipe. The only thing I would change is that next time I'll reduce the celery seed by just a tiny bit--maybe use 2 TSP instead of 2-1/4 TSP. But really, this is a wonderful relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Yesterday I removed my vegetable plants and had loads of green tomatoes. I decided to look for a way to use them and chose this recipe. Wow! Delicious! I used only 3 cups of sugar but was very pleased with the results. This is going to make great Christmas gifts. Now I can't wait until next year's garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My husband made this recipe as we had an over abundance of tomatoes this year and we had to find various recipes for green tomatoes. This recipe was excellent and very easy to make. Thanks to Linda McDaniel for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! I think I may have used a bit more tomatoes then called for...I didn't count because I had a lot of very little ones. I also did not drain the juices, I used them and everything seemed to come out fine. This recipe made 17 one pint jars for me. My DF who normally does not like relish piled this high on his hot dog. I am grateful for this recipe so all those end of the season tomatoes don't go to waste! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My mom made this relish every fall to use up all those green tomatoes! It was a family favorite. Mom died before she could pass along the recipe. How delighted I was to find it on Allrecipes. I reduced the sugar to 3 cups and canned in 12 oz. jam jars. Thanks, Linda, for sharing this recipe. It's a delicious walk down Memory Lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
We love this relish. I have made it for several summers and had lost my recipe. I was very relieved to find it here. Thanks Linda, this truly is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe tastes like the relish my Grandmother used to make. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weldon, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States