Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is the best relish recipe I have ever used in 40 years of canning.Great on hot dogs, ham eggs or put cream cheese on a craker and a dollop of this WOW!!!!. A hint to the lady who had trouble chopping it to the right size. Fill your blender 3/4 with water, add quartered tomatoes and pulse a little until it's the right size for you, put in a colander over a bowl to drain and reuse the water. Also works good for peppers, onions etc. Great way to shred cabbage for slaw too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I love this relish.... i got this from a friend an lost it .... sooooooo glad i found it on all recipes....we love to eat it on everything but mostly our collards from the garden.... u wont go wrong with this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Mix this relish in a little cream cheese, with or without a touch of horseradish. It's the perfect dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe. It is excellent. My whole family enjoys it. It reminds me of the relish my mother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great way to use up those tomatoes before they freeze. Just as good as sweet pickle relish - the tomato haters won't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I couldn’t get celery seeds or mustard seeds by themselves, so I used a pickled gherkin packet mix that also had peppercorns, dill, and coriander in it. Also, I followed the advice of other reviewers, and cut the amount of sugar by about 1/3rd. Glad I did, because it’s just about perfect now and I wouldn’t want it any sweeter. I only made this yesterday and have already tried it with cheese on toast. It's REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was a great way to use green tomatoes at the end of the season the night before a hard frost hit us!! My friends all raved over how delicious this was! It tastes just like sweet pickle relish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelelyl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been using a recipe very similar to this for the past few years to make relish. Everybody just loves it! It is easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEJENS234

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Applegate, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This year was a bumper crop of tomatoes and green peppers for me; unfortunately, while my hubby and I were gone to New Mexico for 3 weeks, Wisconsin had freezing temps and snow!! So, I ended up using freeze-damaged green and red tomatoes as well as freeze-damaged green peppers. I added a few "extras" such as garlic piece, pickling spice, dill seed, cayenne pepper, and black peppercorns to the mixture. Wow!! This relish is fantastic! I'm ecstatic because I hated to see all of that garden produce going to waste. As for Laura not hot-water-bath processing, I don't always do that either. As my mom always said, the acid in the vinegar helps to prevent spoilage. She was a successful canner for more years than I can count. Happy eating and gift-giving to me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I used green grape/cherry tomatoes. Wasn't sure whether celery seed was grey or large yellow type called French Celery Seed so used as much French Seed as I had & made up rest with grey one (labels referred to both as "whole"). I wanted lots of jars so added 4 c. of cabbage as in other recipes, which I put through the chopper. I hand-chopped peppers though, and left sugar at 5 cups. Don't do as I did putting vinegar, sugar and spices in pot & then dumping drained veggies on top an hour later - sugar was cemented to bottom. Draining prevents lengthy boiling. I cooked it until peppers turned lighter in colour - more than 5 min. Was still somewhat watery & colourless so made a paste of 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 to 1 tsp. green food colouring and 1/2 c. vinegar (next time I will cut back on the original amount of vinegar by 1/2 c. to accommodate)and mix to a smooth paste. Strain it into a 2 or 4 c. measuring cup, mashing it in strainer with spoon to remove any lumps, and add as much hot relish to fill cup, stirring constantly, then add very slowly back into the hot relish, stirring constantly until relish reboils and thickens ever so slightly. Cook 5 minutes more. I am probably going to get into trouble for saying this next part but I never water process anything hot-packed because jars, lids and contents are already boiling and whenever I water process I have always had my seals burst & contents boil out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States