Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was very easy and very tasty--I was pleasantly surprised by how crunchy it turned out. Nice texture! For the peppers I used a mixture of yellow and green peppers and some red Portugal Hot peppers (that was what the garden was offering!). I also added a bit more salt, a bit of allspice and clove for flavour, some turmeric and green food colouring, and some liquid pectin for some extra body (worked great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I had over 175 green tomatoes and found this recipe to use up every last one of them! I did add some jalapenos to the second batch about 5 but it could use a little more for extra heat! I will def make sure that i do plant some tomato plants a little later in the spring to make sure i have green tomatoes to make this relish again! gave some away and in a week had people handing me empy jars for seconds!!! Thanks for sharing this with our family !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Yum, Yum, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My husband eats this by the spoonful at times! We are both diabetic so instead of sugar I use a bit less than 5 cups of Splenda. This relish is fabulous. I have a grinder so this recipe goes easy. I'm about to make another batch. This stuff gets gone fast! We can eat as much as we like as there is no sugar! Splenda works well for this unlike baking where you need a combo of it and sugar for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made this while my DH was bowling. I'm allergic to onions, so couldn't even taste it. He tried it when he got home and immediately wanted to fix hot dogs. Said this is the best he ever tasted. This is definately a keeper. Canned 5 pints. Still have some green tomatoes left in the garden, so will be making more. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I give this relish 5 stars plus. I made this yesterday and my home smelt so good. The memories it brought back being at my grandmother's home was heart warming. The great tangy taste is what I have been looking for in making my relishes. Thank-you Linda for your wonderful recipe and the walk down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I've gotten so many people hooked on this recipe! It is great and one of my "must put up every year". My mother loves it with a little butter on toast - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCFAUL1980

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
really good! tastes just like bread and butter pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenie605

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Fantastic .. only change, reducing sugar. Definitely a keeper: I can hardly wait until my BBQ next weekend to show this one off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent, so good, I just eat it with a spoon! A friend used this recipe and added a couple of fresh chopped Jalapeno Peppers and it was also very good with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States