Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my first time making relish and it turned out wonderful. I ended up with about 7 litres of relish that I canned in 250ml jars for gift giving during the holidays :) I would totally recommend this recipe to anyone looking to use up those green tomatoes. The only change I would make, like other users have suggested, is lower the amount of sugar to 3 cups instead of 5. Personal taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I added a bit of cumin and garam marsala to this recipe, which gave it a slightly exotic flavour. Great recipe, highly recommend for relish lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very nice, I accidentally forgot to add salt to the recipe so it was quite sweet. Also was unable to chop it coursely so it a little watery. Otherwise very nice. Alterations I would make another time: chop a little more coursely, remember salt, add a little less sugar and reduce the celery seeds. I used it in a chicken wrap (recipe also from this site) and was amazed at how much nicer it tasted as a result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derby, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Delicious! why oh why did I cut the recipe in half?! now I will have to wait on next spring's tomatoes to make more. We ate it on meatloaf w/ mashed potatoes. sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
LOVE IT! This really is as good as everyone says it is. We've put it on sandwiches, hotdogs, baked potaoes, mixed into tuna...delish! I only made 1/3 of the recipe - wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Made this last fall with our leftover garden tomatoes and it turned out fabulous. Everyone who got a jar couldn't stop raving about it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent! This was my first attempt at canning, and I'm very pleased with the results :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENDEIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My dad used to make this and now I do. Excellent with so many foods!! We love to mix with mayonaisse to taste for tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Like others, i had lost this recipe and was so happy to find it here. mine differs slightly, in that i use a bit of flour to thicken the sauce, and i use brown mustard seeds (great colour), and light brown sugar instead of white. I also use a bit less sugar as others suggested. a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRUDCHIC7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States