Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
absolutely delicious and easy to make. Tip: save the liquid drained from the tomato, pepper and onion mixture and use it as a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is the best and most flavorful relish. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Auer Binkley
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made last year. It was wonderful. Gave to my friends and they also liked it and asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I make a very similar recipe, but it also uses green cabbage and it sets in a sprinkling of salt for a few hours or overnight and rinsed and drained before cooking and canning. Our family used this on burgers and in our tuna fish or for making tartar sauce. It's a great way to use up the leftovers from the garden...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Lou Slocum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAH ADAMS
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
THIS IS PURE AWESOMENESS!!! SO SO GOOD!! AND REALLY EASY TO MAKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Yes & it is delicious. Working on this years batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was a great way to use all the green tomatoes that were left when it was time to take the plants out in the fall. It is delicious and we ended up using it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Quartered the recipe, filled 12 4 oz jars. The only thing I changed was I used 6 banana peppers instead of red bell because that is what came from my garden. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this as is but added some allspice. We love it on hotdogs with mustard, I've tried it in egg salad and in deviled eggs. It's a big hit in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I give the recipe 5 stars, though with a couple of caveats and clarifications. My one complaint is that the recipe quantities should be halved. Yes, it's simple enough for somebody to divide everything by two themselves if they don't want the full recipe, but I blindly followed the recipe since I had plenty of green tomatoes that I needed to use. Holy #$@^?!, what huge quantities this recipe produces! I wound up having to split the recipe into two batches just to be able to fit it into my mixing bowls, colander, and stock pot. But since this halving was done on the fly rather than in a planned manner, I'm sure that the proportions of ingredients in each of the two batches varied by quite a bit ("let's see - that looks like about half of the tomatoes, and about half of the onions," etc., etc.). Also - I had planned to use 4 cups of sugar instead of 5, only to realize that I only had 2 cups of sugar left in the pantry. It still came out to be quite tasty and plenty sweet. Had I used 5 cups of sugar, it's hard to imagine the result being anything short of sickenly sweet. So in my personal view, it seems like the sugar dosage can be dropped substantially - with much less sugar it's quite tasty and much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States