Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been using a recipe very similar to this for the past few years to make relish. Everybody just loves it! It is easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEJENS234

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Applegate, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This year was a bumper crop of tomatoes and green peppers for me; unfortunately, while my hubby and I were gone to New Mexico for 3 weeks, Wisconsin had freezing temps and snow!! So, I ended up using freeze-damaged green and red tomatoes as well as freeze-damaged green peppers. I added a few "extras" such as garlic piece, pickling spice, dill seed, cayenne pepper, and black peppercorns to the mixture. Wow!! This relish is fantastic! I'm ecstatic because I hated to see all of that garden produce going to waste. As for Laura not hot-water-bath processing, I don't always do that either. As my mom always said, the acid in the vinegar helps to prevent spoilage. She was a successful canner for more years than I can count. Happy eating and gift-giving to me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I used green grape/cherry tomatoes. Wasn't sure whether celery seed was grey or large yellow type called French Celery Seed so used as much French Seed as I had & made up rest with grey one (labels referred to both as "whole"). I wanted lots of jars so added 4 c. of cabbage as in other recipes, which I put through the chopper. I hand-chopped peppers though, and left sugar at 5 cups. Don't do as I did putting vinegar, sugar and spices in pot & then dumping drained veggies on top an hour later - sugar was cemented to bottom. Draining prevents lengthy boiling. I cooked it until peppers turned lighter in colour - more than 5 min. Was still somewhat watery & colourless so made a paste of 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 to 1 tsp. green food colouring and 1/2 c. vinegar (next time I will cut back on the original amount of vinegar by 1/2 c. to accommodate)and mix to a smooth paste. Strain it into a 2 or 4 c. measuring cup, mashing it in strainer with spoon to remove any lumps, and add as much hot relish to fill cup, stirring constantly, then add very slowly back into the hot relish, stirring constantly until relish reboils and thickens ever so slightly. Cook 5 minutes more. I am probably going to get into trouble for saying this next part but I never water process anything hot-packed because jars, lids and contents are already boiling and whenever I water process I have always had my seals burst & contents boil out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my first time making relish and it turned out wonderful. I ended up with about 7 litres of relish that I canned in 250ml jars for gift giving during the holidays :) I would totally recommend this recipe to anyone looking to use up those green tomatoes. The only change I would make, like other users have suggested, is lower the amount of sugar to 3 cups instead of 5. Personal taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I added a bit of cumin and garam marsala to this recipe, which gave it a slightly exotic flavour. Great recipe, highly recommend for relish lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very nice, I accidentally forgot to add salt to the recipe so it was quite sweet. Also was unable to chop it coursely so it a little watery. Otherwise very nice. Alterations I would make another time: chop a little more coursely, remember salt, add a little less sugar and reduce the celery seeds. I used it in a chicken wrap (recipe also from this site) and was amazed at how much nicer it tasted as a result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derby, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Delicious! why oh why did I cut the recipe in half?! now I will have to wait on next spring's tomatoes to make more. We ate it on meatloaf w/ mashed potatoes. sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
LOVE IT! This really is as good as everyone says it is. We've put it on sandwiches, hotdogs, baked potaoes, mixed into tuna...delish! I only made 1/3 of the recipe - wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Made this last fall with our leftover garden tomatoes and it turned out fabulous. Everyone who got a jar couldn't stop raving about it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent! This was my first attempt at canning, and I'm very pleased with the results :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENDEIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States