Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Though I reduced the sugar, I loved the recipe and was so happy to use up all of the green tomatoes just as the frost hit. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was my first time canning by myself. I had a bushel of green tomatoes and found this recipe. I read ALL of the reviews for help, and decided to cut the sugar to 3 cups. I am glad I did! It was super sweet with the 3 cups. I had two pots of it on the stove, and added fresh jalepenos to one of them. That gave it a sweet and spicy taste, and i prefered that. i don't like sweet relish or sweet pickles, so cutting the sugar for me was needed. Overall, my onions were super strong, and next time i would probably cut them down, and make sure the green tomato's stood out more. It is a good relish, and unique flavor that you cannot get at any store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
surprizingly tasty! won't buy relish again! Didn't have enough sugar so I used brown sugar instead. I'll make it from now on with brown sugar, it's wonderful with the apple cidar vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Tasty way to use some of those green tomatoes left on the vine. Will make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This recipe is FABULOUS. Reminds me of the relish my grandmother used to make. I chop everything in the food processor and it makes it so easy! This year I had such a bumper crop of tomatoes that mid-season I pulled off enough green tomatoes for a 1/2 batch to give myself a "red tomato" break! My kids love to get this in their "Christmas Goodie Basket"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Tasted good! Not canning anymore so I simmered for the time suggested and used my Foodsaver and put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is close enough to my recipe that I feel I can review it. This stuff is so superior to store-bought relish! I can't eat a hot dog, hamburger, or ham sandwich at home without it. For a wonderful treat and a quick appetizer, mix this relish with shredded extra sharp cheddar, mash together, and add low-fat mayonnaise to a spreading consistency. Serve with crackers. Fast, different, and fabulous. Also great in ham salad. Grind the ham, add relish and mayo to taste. Best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is the best relish! We get this from a relative as a Christmas present every year and we go through it so quickly, we can't wait for the next year to get another jar. I have a large amount of end of season green tomatoes and I decided to look up the recipe to see if I could duplicate it, and this was a match. We joked that this is so good we would eat it on ice cream! I made half a recipe and didn't change a thing. I found another reviewers suggestiong of adding water to the blender to help chop the tomatoes very helpful as I don't have a food processor. I would add one cut up tomato (or pepper or onion) and just enough water to cover. Pulse a few times until chopped to the consistency you want, then drain through a fine mesh strainer. Then into the cheesecloth. Thank you for the tips and for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used this recipe last year to use up our green tomatoes that did not ripen. And today I am going to use it again. So happy I found this recipe. I use it as I would use any pickle relish I buy in the store. It makes great thousand island dressing. I gave some of the canned jars away to friends this summmer and it will make a great gift for someone special this Christmas. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martelle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Oh my! simply heaven on earth! I live in the Adirondacks NY, and to say that we have an early frost is no exaggeration! Now I will ALWAYS have a yummy reason not to mourn an early end to another growing season! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States