Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was my first time making this relish. I made one alteration and added some hot pepper flakes to give it a little kick. I probably didn't add enough but anyway, but flavor was great and everyone who tried it wanted more (even people who thought they didn't like relish)! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic recipe! Made as written and the only change I'd make for me personally is probably a tad less celery seed, just because it's a fairly strong flavor. Other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rush Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Amazing!! Everyone loved it! Even the oldest family members of our family. Said it was the best. I'd have to agree! However, I only came out with enough to fill 6 pint jars. I'm a first timer. Never canned before. I'm sure I made a mistake somewhere. But it still turned out incredible! Its our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
An excellent recipe. Beware, however, of filling jars to the top. You must leave a small headspace for processing or the jars may leak or not seal. I left about 1/8 inch. The jars might seal before you can even get them into the processor with even this low headspace, but process them anyway or they will not be sterile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annawan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Everyone loves this Relish. Add to burgers or pretty much anything! The best Green Tomato Relish I've every made, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe! I read other reviews and saw some people did not drain theirs, so I compromised and drained some of the tomato liquid, but not all. I noticed it is still a bit runny so I will just drain it as I use it and it will be fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
absolutely perfect! The whole family loves it. I didn´t have any celery seeds, so put in coriander seeds instead, which works really well. I also put a little mild chili in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Good stuff I used celery root not seeds cuz I had that in the garden. Lots of peppers. I loved the way it came out. I ended up with 15. 1/2 pint jars. Very Happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Just a tiny bit bland. I added some crushed red pepper flakes and that kicked it up a notch. Loved it otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Living in Wisconsin we don't always get a chance for our produce to ripen before the weather turns. This recipe is a great way for me to use all of my green tomatoes that I didn't want to waste!! Thanks so much Linda!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States