Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I threw in some cayenne pepper on the second batch and it added a nice flavor kick. Great on hot dogs and black eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Photo by Mark
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Great use of those late season green tomatoes. I altered recipe a bit. I used 24 Sweet & 12 Hot Bannana Pepper in place of Green Bell Pepper. I used 1 Orange & 2 Red Bell Pepper for more color. (next time prob. dbl each) 4 Cups Sugar & 4 Med-Large Cloves of Garlic & No Salt at all. I Split Qty of Onions between white & Yellow. Next time I will probably reduce Celery Seed by 1/3. I'm not a big fan of Celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My sons use this like salsa on tortilla chips, I add some to tuna salad. Mine turned out a bit too liquidy - probably my fault, not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Brilliant! This will be added to my usual canning schedule. Though I used considerably more green tomatoes (at least forty) and reduced the number of onions to nine, I still put up eighteen half-pint jars. Great in tuna, chicken, or pasta salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This recipe is just like my mom used to make! It's awesome! I only made 1/2 of a batch, but will make a full batch next year. I shared the finished product with a co-worker and she will also be making this next year. I did follow other reviewers suggestions and cut back on the sugar. It was still plenty sweet. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Our growing season was about 6 weeks late here in Colorado this year which left us with a lot of green tomatoes. This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent, Easy and Yummy! I downsized this to use up my green tomatoes from the garden. Will use every year now. Would make good gifts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is SO good. However, I took the advice of so many others and added only 3 cups of sugar. It was more than enough. With 3 cups worth it has the equivelent sweetness that store bought relish would have. It comes out perfect and has a nice crunch. There is one other thing i would change next time. I would not drain it. It did drain off a lot of water but i found when i filled my jars i did not have enough juice to fill them all up and it left air pockets. I have my fingers crossed that they will remain sealed. Not that they will last long. I am now customizing my family meals around this relish so i can use it more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I'll probably be making another batch of this stuff since there's 8 people in my family and they all love it. I'm sure it won't last long with my crowd especially with 5 of my 6 children being boys and always ready to eat! Very easy to make and goes great with many dishes. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LENDALOU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Great tasting recipe...love this recipe to put to use all my green tomatoes..I would like to try and make this with larger slices of tomatoes, onions, and jalapeno peppers and no spices...so it will taste like a favorite catfish resturants relish that I just love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States