Green Tomato Raspberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Wow! This was impressive. The first batch I made I grated the tomato and it was a bit too stringy. The next batch I blended the tomato for a few seconds and it was much better texture. Also be careful not to boil too long. I didn't have enough moisture so the jam was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This recipe was good but a little too sweet. Next time I make it I will cut back the amount of sugar used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This is a great recipe. You can use Strawberry gelatin instead of Raspberry gelatin for a different taste, if you have a lot of green tomatoes left in the garden in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Amazing! I have some raspberry jam I made from fresh picked crop to compare this to and, except for the seeds, you wouldn't know the difference. Worth picking tomatos green on purpose, and not just using the last of the crop! Great for recipes, too. Makes good raspberry dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Made a half batch, which filled 4 half-pint jars. Processed in a water bath for about 10 minutes to seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt at mock raspberry jam. I followed the recipe exactly using my Cuisinart to chop up the tomatoes. I filled six pint-sized jars. My family likes it pretty well and it is a reasonable substitute for real fruit jam. And, a fun way to use up all my green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I had so much fun making this FAST recipe. It tasted wonderful. I used Strawberry, rasberry, peach and orange jellos for variety; wow they all worked super!!!! My only problem is they are not thickening. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Super way to use up all those green tomatoes and what a taste, better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
Wow, this really looks like raspberry jam. My daughter loves it on toast. I am a conisseur of jams, and it is not bad as far as jams go. Of course I prefer the real thing but it is a good way of using up the green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for reducing the sugar a little. Put tomatoes(the egg-sized) through the food processor, yielding about 6c. I added 5 c. sugar to that. After cooking the requisite time, I added a partial packet of liquid pectin I had sitting in the fridge (I wanted to get rid of it and knew it wouldn't hurt the recipe) along with the jello - followed the rest of the instructions. Great consistency, great color, excellent flavor. Raspberry jam is my favorite jam and in my opinion, and not to take away from the results here, this jam is more "reminiscent" of Raspberry Jam rather than seeming to be the real thing. However, I will use this recipe any time I can get my hands on more green tomatoes. This jam is certainly cheaper than making real raspberry jam, which only adds to the value of this recipe. Oh, I got 7-3/4 250ml jars of jam. Not bad for 4 c. sugar and 2 small packets of jello. I processed the jars in the canner 10 minutes. Thanks for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States