Green Tomato Raspberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Yes, and I love it. I give it out as gifts. One recipient wanted to know where I got such good raspberries. Others have asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
To get this to set up, be sure to completely dissolve jello, stir at least 4 minutes. I just did a comparison between my mock and my real raspberry. The real raspberry has the tart flavor we know love and the mock raspberry tastes like raspberry jello, very sweet, no tartness at all. Kids will love it though. The second time I made this I used yellow tomatoes and cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups. That worked too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, hope to, can I use sugar free jello and splenda in place of the sugar so my diabetic husband can enjoy it also?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Kinda started out as a joke that i can make jelly out of anything. Well this proved to everyone that it can be done. Fantastic flavor, easy to make, and kids and adults alike love it. Took the sugar down to 3 cups and added 4 tablespoons of pectin. Strawberry and raspberry have been the biggest hit. Don't wait till fall to make this, pull some early and enjoy. You will not regret making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I purposefully altered this recipe to fit my craving for a pepper jelly. I used the green tomatoes and also shredded 1 medium sized Pablano pepper. I omitted the sugar, added the raspberry gelatin as well as 1/4 cup black raspberries. It has the sweetness in the mouth at the beginning and a tang at the end that tastes great with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applesnyder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is alright, but I can still taste the green tomatoes in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Melin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I tried this last year n it turned out great. But this year I am having trouble with my Orange,Cherry, And Raspberry sitting up. Any Help would be greatful. Thanks: Ed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Rudnick
Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is ok if you're really intent on not wasting tomatoes that won't ripen. However, this jam has been sitting for months and we have not eaten it as we do not care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bonduel, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very good and very easy. My family loves it and it makes a great unique gift. I only use 3 cups sugar and it turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for reducing the sugar a little. Put tomatoes(the egg-sized) through the food processor, yielding about 6c. I added 5 c. sugar to that. After cooking the requisite time, I added a partial packet of liquid pectin I had sitting in the fridge (I wanted to get rid of it and knew it wouldn't hurt the recipe) along with the jello - followed the rest of the instructions. Great consistency, great color, excellent flavor. Raspberry jam is my favorite jam and in my opinion, and not to take away from the results here, this jam is more "reminiscent" of Raspberry Jam rather than seeming to be the real thing. However, I will use this recipe any time I can get my hands on more green tomatoes. This jam is certainly cheaper than making real raspberry jam, which only adds to the value of this recipe. Oh, I got 7-3/4 250ml jars of jam. Not bad for 4 c. sugar and 2 small packets of jello. I processed the jars in the canner 10 minutes. Thanks for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States