Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow! It really does taste like apple pie. I actually peeled the tomatoes (a knife worked easier than a veggie peeler for me) since that's what I do with apples. I upped the flour to about 1/3 cup and ended up baking it for an hour. It came out great- not too runny like some reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I had high hopes for this pie as I love the idea of using green tomatoes. Perhaps success is dependent on the size the tomatoes are chopped (mine were 1/2" pieces) or how green they are (mine were pretty green, certainly not close to orange). Anyway, the cooked pie was pieces of green tomato swimming in a watery liquid. They tasted ok, although the spices were overwhelming. They were nothing like apple pie. Hoping to try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This is delicious. The applecider vinegar gives it just the right amount of tartness. Some people may find it too sweet served hot and will prefer it chilled. I loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I loved this!! I read the other reviews and so I added a little more flour. But I think the trick is the ripeness of the tomatoes. They need to be "mature" green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carymolyneux
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was absolutely stunning. I would never imagined that green tomatoes could taste like this. Next time I will use a little less nutmeg, maybe half, but other than that, it was an incredible pie. My guests will never guess that it could come from green tomatoes. This will become a fall tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I made this pie and followed the recipe to the letter. The taste of spices was far too strong, the filling was runny and I was very disappointed with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bokabo
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
The pie is very good although mine was very runny. Next time I will either add more flour or some cornstarch for thickening. I also baked mine according to how I bake most other fruit pies which is at 400 for 30 mins rotate the pie 180 and bake at 375 for another 30 mins. I also added a bit of ginger to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bokabo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is an incredible pie!!! I will add a bit more flour next time ( a bit rumnny) but very delicious. The kids loved it. They thought it was an apple pie( they hate tomatoes) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
In a word--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This pie is amazing. It really DOES taste just like a very good apple pie. I had such fun fooling people! I made it the first time just for my husband and myself. When I told him what I was making, he looked at me with a less than positive reaction! However, as he was eating it, I kept hearing him mumble, "I don't understand how this can taste like this. I just don't understand it." Now - the juice thing - yep, it will explode with juice - so - I used a cup of flour and scooped the tomatoes into the crust, leaving a lot of juice mixture in the bottom of the bowl. Worked perfectly. I have made 6 of them in the past two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States