Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This is delicious. The applecider vinegar gives it just the right amount of tartness. Some people may find it too sweet served hot and will prefer it chilled. I loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
In a word--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great Pie! A great use for your green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I made this pie and followed the recipe to the letter. The taste of spices was far too strong, the filling was runny and I was very disappointed with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carymolyneux
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was absolutely stunning. I would never imagined that green tomatoes could taste like this. Next time I will use a little less nutmeg, maybe half, but other than that, it was an incredible pie. My guests will never guess that it could come from green tomatoes. This will become a fall tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I had high hopes for this pie as I love the idea of using green tomatoes. Perhaps success is dependent on the size the tomatoes are chopped (mine were 1/2" pieces) or how green they are (mine were pretty green, certainly not close to orange). Anyway, the cooked pie was pieces of green tomato swimming in a watery liquid. They tasted ok, although the spices were overwhelming. They were nothing like apple pie. Hoping to try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow! It really does taste like apple pie. I actually peeled the tomatoes (a knife worked easier than a veggie peeler for me) since that's what I do with apples. I upped the flour to about 1/3 cup and ended up baking it for an hour. It came out great- not too runny like some reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I loved this!! I read the other reviews and so I added a little more flour. But I think the trick is the ripeness of the tomatoes. They need to be "mature" green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I loved this my new halloween recipe. I was a little iffy at first but I wanted to try something new and so glad I did. I microwaved the piece of pie for about 20 seconds and added vanilla ice cream. YUMMMY Thanks for sharing your recipe. It was AWESOME. It has the texture of apples. TRUELY AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bokabo
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
The pie is very good although mine was very runny. Next time I will either add more flour or some cornstarch for thickening. I also baked mine according to how I bake most other fruit pies which is at 400 for 30 mins rotate the pie 180 and bake at 375 for another 30 mins. I also added a bit of ginger to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bokabo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States