Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I loved this!! I read the other reviews and so I added a little more flour. But I think the trick is the ripeness of the tomatoes. They need to be "mature" green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow! It really does taste like apple pie. I actually peeled the tomatoes (a knife worked easier than a veggie peeler for me) since that's what I do with apples. I upped the flour to about 1/3 cup and ended up baking it for an hour. It came out great- not too runny like some reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I had high hopes for this pie as I love the idea of using green tomatoes. Perhaps success is dependent on the size the tomatoes are chopped (mine were 1/2" pieces) or how green they are (mine were pretty green, certainly not close to orange). Anyway, the cooked pie was pieces of green tomato swimming in a watery liquid. They tasted ok, although the spices were overwhelming. They were nothing like apple pie. Hoping to try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carymolyneux
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was absolutely stunning. I would never imagined that green tomatoes could taste like this. Next time I will use a little less nutmeg, maybe half, but other than that, it was an incredible pie. My guests will never guess that it could come from green tomatoes. This will become a fall tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I made this pie and followed the recipe to the letter. The taste of spices was far too strong, the filling was runny and I was very disappointed with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great Pie! A great use for your green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
In a word--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This is delicious. The applecider vinegar gives it just the right amount of tartness. Some people may find it too sweet served hot and will prefer it chilled. I loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States