Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Tried this pie for a church social. A man in his seventies said it reminded him of the green tomato pie his mother made when he was a child. It really does taste like apple pie. As recommended by others, I did bake it a little longer than the stated time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a hit with my family and friends. Everyone wanted the recipe and thought it tasted like apple pie. Easy to make. Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Good flavor, maybe a bit much on the nutmeg, but my pie came out very runny. I had upped the flour like some of the reviewers suggested but it was so wet that even after an hour in the oven the crust was still doughy. I may give it a try again because the flavor was really really good, but next time I'll par bake the bottom crust AND try the tapioca another reveiwer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is an incredible pie!!! I will add a bit more flour next time ( a bit rumnny) but very delicious. The kids loved it. They thought it was an apple pie( they hate tomatoes) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
It was good. Not something I crave, but fantastic use of the seasons last green tomatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakengrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bokabo
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
The pie is very good although mine was very runny. Next time I will either add more flour or some cornstarch for thickening. I also baked mine according to how I bake most other fruit pies which is at 400 for 30 mins rotate the pie 180 and bake at 375 for another 30 mins. I also added a bit of ginger to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bokabo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I loved this my new halloween recipe. I was a little iffy at first but I wanted to try something new and so glad I did. I microwaved the piece of pie for about 20 seconds and added vanilla ice cream. YUMMMY Thanks for sharing your recipe. It was AWESOME. It has the texture of apples. TRUELY AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I loved this!! I read the other reviews and so I added a little more flour. But I think the trick is the ripeness of the tomatoes. They need to be "mature" green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow! It really does taste like apple pie. I actually peeled the tomatoes (a knife worked easier than a veggie peeler for me) since that's what I do with apples. I upped the flour to about 1/3 cup and ended up baking it for an hour. It came out great- not too runny like some reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I had high hopes for this pie as I love the idea of using green tomatoes. Perhaps success is dependent on the size the tomatoes are chopped (mine were 1/2" pieces) or how green they are (mine were pretty green, certainly not close to orange). Anyway, the cooked pie was pieces of green tomato swimming in a watery liquid. They tasted ok, although the spices were overwhelming. They were nothing like apple pie. Hoping to try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States