Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Good stuff. Had a ton of green Roma tomatoes hanging for the first frost. Needed some way to use them, glad I tried this. Diced my tomatoes, upped the flour to 1/3 cup and baked for almost an hour. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made it as a cobbler or crumble, with no pie crust and a crumble topping (3/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 3-4 tbsp butter), and it turned out great. My kids said it was the best thing I've ever made. If you think of it as a cobbler, it's the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is a great way to use green tomatoes. I used 1/2 cup of flour and did not add the clove because my MIL was coming over for dinner and does not like clove. Next time I will use less nutmeg it was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made this pie this afternoon. improvised a bit and ended up having to bake it quite a bit longer but it was absolutely awesome. Loved it and will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Wish I had read the reviews before making it. Wow, tomato pieces floating in spiced water. At least the crust was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made some changes but I really love this recipe. First change I made as suggested was to increase the amount of flour to 1/3 C. and I used 2 tsp of cinnamon. My favorite recipe for pie crust was only for a single crust so I topped this with a dutch crumble topping. OMG sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made 3 small changes based on others' note that the pie has too much liquid. I added 2 tsp corn starch and upped the flour to about 1/3 c. After mixing the tomatoes sugar and vinegar, I scooped out as much of the liquid as was easily removable. Then when filling the pie shell, I put in all the tomatoes and enough liquid to come about half to 2/3 of the way up the walls of the shell. Based on the last green tomato pie I made, I cut the tomatoes into wedges and then cut the wedges into thirds crosswise, so I didn't end up with large hunks of hard tomato. Delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
My grandma and aunts used to make green tomato pie every year, so this recipe brings back fond memories from childhood. It's one of those old fashioned ways to make the most of everything you got from the garden. I had more success when I baked at 425. I also sliced the tomatoes like I would slice apples for apple pie. Then sprinkled the top crust with extra cinnamon sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Suspend your disbelief--green tomato slices look nothing like apple, but both my husband and 16 year old son said "It really DOES taste like apple pie!" My slight changes were to double the amount of flour for a 9" deep dish pie (and it still needed more, tomatoes are very runny!) and a tiny bit of molasses. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was a total failure. I followed it to the letter, yet after the prescribed bake time it was clearly not done. I baked it an additional 30 minutes, but still ended up with a pie plate full of hard, uncooked green tomato chunks in a watery sauce that ran all over the plate when I tied to serve it. I was so angry and disapponted that I had wasted my time and resources on it. Definitely use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States