Green Tomato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I loved this. I made it with halved green, cherry tomatoes. Next time, I may dice the tomatoes, but I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
It smelled yummy while baking, but when it came time to eat it, NOT one person in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron Graves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this pie today and it turned out to be a hit at the get together that I went to. I did, however, adjust it. I added about 1/2 tsp salt to the dry mixture, I used 1/2 cup of flour, and I dotted the top with 2 Tbsp butter before putting the top crust on and last I baked it at 425 degrees F for 45 minutes. Baking time could vary from 35-45 minutes. The pie is done when the top is golden brown and the juices are bubbling out of the top. Hope you are as successful as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
For any green tomato pie recipe, it helps to lightly salt the cut up tomatoes and drain in a colander for about 30 minutes before mixing with the other ingredients. Helps take out the extra juice so the pie is not so runny. I always add a bit more cornstarch or flour than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Good stuff. Had a ton of green Roma tomatoes hanging for the first frost. Needed some way to use them, glad I tried this. Diced my tomatoes, upped the flour to 1/3 cup and baked for almost an hour. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made it as a cobbler or crumble, with no pie crust and a crumble topping (3/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 3-4 tbsp butter), and it turned out great. My kids said it was the best thing I've ever made. If you think of it as a cobbler, it's the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is a great way to use green tomatoes. I used 1/2 cup of flour and did not add the clove because my MIL was coming over for dinner and does not like clove. Next time I will use less nutmeg it was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made this pie this afternoon. improvised a bit and ended up having to bake it quite a bit longer but it was absolutely awesome. Loved it and will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Wish I had read the reviews before making it. Wow, tomato pieces floating in spiced water. At least the crust was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made some changes but I really love this recipe. First change I made as suggested was to increase the amount of flour to 1/3 C. and I used 2 tsp of cinnamon. My favorite recipe for pie crust was only for a single crust so I topped this with a dutch crumble topping. OMG sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States