Green Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Very good recipe. Because one reviewer stated that it was too runny, I sprinkled uncooked tapioca over the filling before putting top crust on. That is a trick my Grandmother taught me whenever you want to reduce the "juice" in a fruit pie. Also, I stopped using flour in fruit pies ages ago...I only use cornstarch, and get a better taste. Also, I have found that a 1/4 tsp. of almond extract brings out the flavor of many fruits...give it a try. Over all, I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Unbelievable!!!! I took this to work and actually watched grown men fight over it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This pie is excellent! It is like eating a fresh applie pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
everyone loved it. I left out the flour and put 1 tablespoon tappioca. Just like apple but with a little different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
For whatever reason, this year I had way too many green tomatoes to fry but not enough for a big batch of relish. So, time to get creative! In that mindset, I tried this pie and I have to say, it's good. A little odd, but good. One wouldn't think it's apple, but it's quite nice. I used tomatoes with a bit of a blush to them, and I had to increase the baking time dramatically for the crust to brown. I would also decrease the spices next time-- the cinnamon in particular is a little too much. But it's quite a nice use for those before-the-frost tomatoes! I'll be making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Thickening problem? Answer: In the previous reviews I read a lot of people had problems with the pie being so wet or runny. I doubled the flour and found it was still runny at the required cooking time. My crust was pale and no bubbling in the pie. I cooked it 15 minutes longer (55 minutes) realizing the temperature has to be hot enough and LONG enough to make the 'thickener' work properly. At the end of 55 minutes, my crust was golden and the pie was bubbling all over. I removed it and let it cool about two hours. It was thickened to perfection. Another thing that might have helped was adding the tomatoes to the flour/sugar mixture in a large bowl and stirring to coat the tomatoes. My husband and I were happy with the flavor even though there were a few strings coming off 'my' tomatoes in my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Yuck, This was gross. Not enough flour so the filling was really runny. I baked it until my crust was golden brown(about 40 minutes) and the tomatoes weren't soft at all. Tasted like green tomatoes doused in watery sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I would not recommend this pie. I am like most and wanted some creative recipe for my green tomatoes and found this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and added 1 tbsp of cornstarch to prevent watery pie. The taste is extremely odd and is not like apple pie at all. I will put my green tomatoes to use in a relish or some other fashion instead of this pie. I am sad I wasted a good pie crust on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very easy prep, fast all around, I loved this pie and was a disbeliever of anything sweet with green tomatoes. Bravo!! The sweet/cinnamon tastes like apple pie spices. Oh, I would not recommend slicing the peppers into long strips as I did (too many dinners, what can I say) - this was the only weird texture issue. Yes, it was a bit runny, am making it again tonight and will add the cornstarch per the suggestion in one of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I thought this was a great way to use up green tomatoes from the garden. I baked it for about 10-15 extra minutes and added a bit of extra flour just in case it would be runny. But it turned out fine. The tomato skins were a bit rubbery though. If they hadnt been, you would have thought it was an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States